BWM Architects

De Suche Menu
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz

One-of-a-kind, award-winning architecture: Its oval windows and dark glass mosaic façade make the centrally-located Hotel Topazz a unique eyecatcher

A 153m² corner plot near Hoher Markt square now boasts an eye-catching hotel designed by BWM Architekten and Michael Manzenreiter. Hotel Topazz inscribes itself in the city’s consciousness while at the same time enhancing the fabric of Vienna’s historical centre with its originality and high quality. Hotel Topazz opened its doors in April 2012.

Counterpoint in the historical cityscape

The building draws its height reference from the long row of buildings on Hoher Markt square, and its distinctive rounded top edge leads over into Kramergasse. This is an homage to the previous building, whose façade was also characterised by a bold, rounded projection.

Like its predecessor, this new project stands out against the cityscape. Its main feature is the distinctive façade with elliptical window openings and dark-brown mosaic cladding. The eye-like windows jut out slightly and also form curved recesses on the inside. Guests can lounge in them while watching the hustle and bustle of the city below. The staggered configuration of the elliptical windows playfully mirrors the varying floor heights of the adjacent buildings and provides a relaxed, weightless contrast to the uniformity of the hotel’s historical surroundings.

The generous, glass-enclosed ground floor draws the eye to the hotel’s reception area and to the salon below. This further enhances the building’s inviting, urban character.

Erich Bernard
The staggered configuration of the elliptical windows playfully mirrors the varying floor heights of the adjacent buildings and provides a relaxed, weightless contrast to the uniformity of the hotel’s historical surroundings.
Erich Bernard

Outside and inside as a dialogical unit

The distinctive façade forms a counterpoint to the continuum of Vienna’s historical centre with which it engages in a lively dialogue. An aspect that played an integral part in the creation of the interior concept was the space-saving utilisation of the elliptical windows as lounging nooks from which guests can observe the city’s street life. The interior spaces were designed and realised by Michael Manzenreiter. His concept is a modern interpretation of the world of the famous Wiener Werkstätte.

Sustainably planned

Hotel Topazz was planned with sustainability and resource conservation in mind in terms of the construction materials used, the building’s physical properties and its energy requirement. The groundwater heat pump principle is applied for heating and cooling, and the building’s own deep-well systems are used for energy recovery.

Task
Construction of a hotel building with characteristic façade in Vienna city centre

Status
Completion 04/2012

Area
2200 m²

Client
Lenikus GmbH

Category
4 Stars Superior

9 upper floors, ground floor, 3 basement floors

BWM Team
Erich Bernard, Ferdinand Bischofter, Alexandra Stage, Judith Moser, Peter Foschi, Hubert Meyer, Egon Niedertscheider

Image credit
BWM Architekten/Christoph Panzer
LENIKUS/Anna Blau
Gerhard Trumler

Participants

Architecture
BWM Architekten und Michael Manzenreiter Architecture

Design, facade
BWM Architekten und Partner

Ground plan, interior design
DI Michael Manzenreiter

Feasibility study
PKF hotelexperts GmbH

Awards

AIT Award

30 April 2014

AIT Award

AIT Award 2014: The Hotel Topazz in Vienna (by BWM Architekten together with MICHAEL MANZENREITER ARCHITECTURE) was awarded with the third prize in the hotel category. An international jury made its selection from among almost 600 projects in more than 30 countries in 8 categories.

Link to AIT-Award

Reisemagazin GEO, Best of Designhotels

24 April 2014

Reisemagazin GEO, Best of Designhotels

For the second time after 2013 the Hotel Topazz has been listed among the best Design Hotels for 2014 by the German travel magazine GEO Saison. Only a few Austrian hotels have made it twice into this international ranking of GEO Saison.

Link zu GEO

AIT Award 2014

13 April 2014

AIT Award 2014

The Hotel Topazz in Vienna (by BWM Architekten together with MICHAEL MANZENREITER ARCHITECTURE) was awarded with the third prize in the hotel category. An international jury made its selection from among almost 600 projects in more than 30 countries in 8 categories.

Hotel Property of the Year 2012!

11 October 2012

Hotel Property of the Year 2012!

Hotel Topazz was nominated as "Hotel Property of the Year 2012" in the context of the great closing gala of the "hotel forum" on 10th October in Munich. The 11 jury members selected three finalists in the first run: Hotel Topazz, Hotel Explorer and the Hotel SAKS in Kaiserslautern. The Topazz Hotel, a project of the Lenikus Group finally won the race.

Matthias Niemeyer, "hotelforum" jury chairman: "The decisive factor in the award was the combination of the different aspects such as architecture, design and sustainability. We are pleased to be here today to honor this innovative concept, witch challenges, especially with regard to the location, have been coped perfectly. "

Free to apply to the competition were hotels offering an attractive integrated concept, inaugurated between January 2011 and June 2012.

best architects 14

16 April 2012

best architects 14

The Hotel Topazz located in Vienna's city center (architecture by BWM Architekten together with MICHAEL MANZENREITER ARCHITECTURE) was awarded best architects 14 in July 2013. This award is granted every year to the most significant and interesting architectural projects in the entire German -speaking world.

Link to best architects

Press

20 February 2021

Die Presse

Im Spannungsfeld von Alt und Neu

PDF

1 September 2018

Metropole

The Sociable City

PDF

13 November 2015

Falstaff Living

Wie designt man Genuss?

PDF

BWM Architekten

En Suche Menu
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz

Originäre, preisgekrönte Architektur: Mit den ovalen Fenstern und der dunklen Fassade aus Glasmosaik behauptet sich das Hotel Topazz in Wiens Zentrum völlig eigenständig

Auf einem nur 153 m² großen Eckgrundstück beim Hohen Markt entwarfen das BWM Architekten und DI Michael Manzenreiter ein Hotelgebäude, das sich ins Bewusstsein der Stadt einschreibt und zugleich durch seine Originalität den historischen Bestand der Wiener Innenstadt qualitätsvoll bereichert.

Kontrapunkt im historischen Stadtbild

Wie ein dunkler Edelstein glänzt das neue Designhotel Topazz in der Wiener Innenstadt. Das Gebäude nimmt die Höhenbezüge der langen Fassadenfront des Hohen Marktes auf und führt diese über eine markante Rundung in die Kramergasse über. Damit erweist der Neubau seine Reverenz an das Vorgängergebäude, dessen Fassade bereits durch eine signifikante, geschwungene Auskragung gekennzeichnet war.

Wie sein Vorgängerbau behauptet sich auch das neue Projekt eigenständig im Stadtbild: Der Hauptakzent liegt dabei auf der charakteristischen Fassade mit ihren ovalen Fensteröffnungen und der dunklen Verkleidung aus Glasmosaik. Wie Augen öffnen sich die leicht vorspringenden Fenster in den Stadtraum. Sie dienen im Inneren dem Hotelbesucher als körperfreundlich gerundeter Ausguck, von dem aus das Leben der Stadt liegend beobachtet werden kann. Die versetzte Anordnung der ovalen Fenster nimmt spielerisch die unterschiedlichen Geschoßhöhen der Nachbargebäude auf und kontrastiert mit gelassener Leichtigkeit die Einheitlichkeit der historisch geprägten Umgebung.

Das großzügig verglaste Erdgeschoß gibt den Blick auf das Entrée und den darunter liegenden Gästeraum frei, wodurch der urbane und einladende Charakter des Hauses noch verstärkt wird.

Erich Bernard
Die versetzte Anordnung der ovalen Fenster nimmt spielerisch die unterschiedlichen Geschoßhöhen der Nachbargebäude auf und kontrastiert mit gelassener Leichtigkeit die Einheitlichkeit der historisch geprägten Umgebung.
Erich Bernard

Außen und innen als dialogische Einheit

Die signifikante Fassade mit den ovalen Fenstern und der Glasmosaikoberfläche tritt durch seine kontrapunktische Wirkung mit dem Kontinuum des historischen Stadtbildes der Wiener Innenstadt in einen belebenden Dialog. Konstitutiver Teil der Innenraumkonzeption war die platzoptimierende Nutzung der ovalen Fenster als Liegekoje, die dem Gast als Ausguck auf das Stadtgeschehen dienen kann. Die Innenräume wurden von DI Michael Manzenreiter konzipiert und umgesetzt. Sein Entwurf thematisiert die Welt der Wiener Werkstätten in moderner Interpretation.

Nachhaltig geplant

Das Gebäude ist im Hinblick auf seine Baustoffe, seine bauphysikalischen Eigenschaften und seinen Energiebedarf auf Nachhaltigkeit und ressourcenschonenden Energieeinsatz geplant. Heizung und Kühlung erfolgen nach dem Prinzip der Grundwasser-Wärmepumpe und die Energierückgewinnung durch eigene Tiefbrunnenanlagen.

Aufgabe
Errichtung eines Hotelgebäudes mit charakteristischer Fassade in der Wiener Innenstadt

Status
Fertigstellung 04/2012

Fläche
2200 m²

Auftraggeber
Lenikus GmbH

Kategorie
4 Sterne Superior

9 Obergeschoße, Erdgeschoß, 3 Untergeschoße

BWM Team
Erich Bernard, Ferdinand Bischofter, Alexandra Stage, Judith Moser, Peter Foschi, Hubert Meyer, Egon Niedertscheider

Bildnachweis
BWM Architekten/Christoph Panzer
LENIKUS/Anna Blau
Gerhard Trumler

Projektbeteiligte

Architektur
BWM Architekten und Michael Manzenreiter Architecture

Entwurf, Fassade
BWM Architekten

Grundrisse, Innenarchitektur
Michael Manzenreiter Architecture

Feasibility Studie
PKF hotelexperts GmbH

Auszeichnungen

AIT Award

30 April 2014

AIT Award

AIT Award 2014: Das Wiener Hotel Topazz (BWM Architekten gemeinsam mit MICHAEL MANZENREITER ARCHITECTURE) wurde in der Kategorie Hotel mit dem dritten Preis ausgezeichnet. Eine internationale Jury wählte aus fast 600 Projekten aus über 30 Ländern in 8 Kategorien.

Zum AIT Award

Reisemagazin GEO, Die besten Designhotels

24 April 2014

Reisemagazin GEO, Die besten Designhotels

Zum zweiten Mal nach 2013 wurde das Hotel Topazz auch 2014 vom deutschen Reisemagazin GEO Saison in die Liste der besten Designhotels gewählt. Erst wenige österreichische Hotels haben es bisher zweimal in dieses internationale Ranking von GEO Saison geschafft.

Link zu GEO

AIT Award 2014

13 April 2014

AIT Award 2014

Das Wiener Hotel Topazz (BWM Architekten gemeinsam mit MICHAEL MANZENREITER ARCHITECTURE) wurde in der Kategorie Hotel mit dem dritten Preis ausgezeichnet. Eine internationale Jury wählte aus fast 600 Projekten aus über 30 Ländern in 8 Kategorien.

Hotelimmobilie des Jahres 2012

11 Oktober 2012

Hotelimmobilie des Jahres 2012

Für die Auszeichnung „Hotelimmobilie des Jahres 2012“, die im Rahmen der großen Abschlussgala des „hotelforum“ am 10. Oktober in München verliehen wurde, hatte die 11-köpfige Jury im Vorfeld drei Finalisten ausgewählt: Neben dem Hotel Topazz standen noch das Explorer-Montafon sowie das SAKS Kaiserslautern im Finale. Gewonnen hat schließlich das Hotel Topazz, ein Projekt der Lenikus-Gruppe.

Matthias Niemeyer, "hotelforum"-Jury-Vorsitzender: „Entscheidend bei der Preisvergabe war die Zusammenführung einzelner Aspekte wie Architektur, Gestaltung und Nachhaltigkeit zu einem gelungenen Gesamtkonzept. Wir freuen uns, heute dieses innovative Konzept ehren zu können, das große Herausforderungen, besonders auch im Hinblick auf den Standort, perfekt gemeistert hat.“

Für die Auszeichnung haben sich zwischen Januar 2011 und Juni 2012 eröffnete Hotels beworben, die sich durch ein gelungenes Gesamtkonzept von der Konkurrenz abheben.

best architects 14

16 April 2012

best architects 14

Das Wiener Hotel Topazz (Architektur BWM Architekten gemeinsam mit MICHAEL MANZENREITER ARCHITECTURE) wurde im Juli 2013 mit der Auszeichnung best architects 14 prämiert. Der Award zeichnet jedes Jahr die aussagekräftigsten und interessantesten Architekturprojekte im gesamten deutschsprachigen Raum aus.

Link zu best architects

Presse

20 Februar 2021

Die Presse

Im Spannungsfeld von Alt und Neu

PDF

1 September 2018

Metropole

The Sociable City

PDF

13 November 2015

Falstaff Living

Wie designt man Genuss?

PDF