BWM Architects

De Suche Menu
25hours Hotel Vienna at MuseumsQuartier
25hours Hotel Vienna at MuseumsQuartier
25hours Hotel Vienna at MuseumsQuartier
25hours Hotel Vienna at MuseumsQuartier
25hours Hotel Vienna at MuseumsQuartier
25hours Hotel Vienna at MuseumsQuartier
25hours Hotel Vienna at MuseumsQuartier

The spectacular transformation of a 1970s student residence into a cool design hotel clearly anchored in the 21st century.

In 2011, in the first building phase, BWM Architekten topped the building with a three-storey glass cuboid, which houses 35 individually furnished apartments and an exclusive bar. In 2013, after the second building phase, the rest of the building was handed over to the hotel company. The new anthracite-coloured, washed-concrete façade gives the hotel ensemble a contemporary look and makes it stand out against its urban surroundings.

Markus Kaplan
The façade of the glass cuboid corresponds to the original building’s compact form, and in combination they form a new, contemporary structure.
Markus Kaplan

Spectacular view from the roof cuboid

The new hotel’s most prominent architectural feature is the cubic glass roof structure consisting of three floors, which gives the building its special appearance. The façade of the glass cuboid corresponds to the original building’s compact form, and in combination they form a new, contemporary structure. Spacious hotel suites and rooms are located on these top floors, offering a magnificent panorama view of the cityscape with the Parliament building and the historical Palais Trautson and Palais Auersberg. The top floor boasts a large terrace with a publicly accessible café, which can be reached by elevator directly from the park. Since opening in 2011, the café has become a popular spot for both locals and international hotel guests.

New visibility

The second construction phase, which commenced after completion of the first, involved extending the existing U-shaped structure that stretches all the way back to Mechitaristengasse. BWM created a patio and an outdoor area on the first basement storey by means of recesses and incisions. This ensures that the seminar rooms and spa facilities located on this floor have sufficient ventilation and natural light.

The hotel’s main entrance is in Lerchenfelderstrasse, accessed via the new lobby on the ground floor. The original washed-concrete façade was given a coat of anthracite-coloured paint; this fresh, new look enhances the building’s visibility and appeal.

For BWM Architekten, this project represents a contribution towards a more differentiated treatment of existent modern architecture within an urban context. Moreover, it is a tribute to the quality and significance of pragmatism in late functionalism.

Better visibility in the cityscape thanks to new paint
Better visibility in the cityscape thanks to new paint

A building in transition

In 1969 the six-floor reinforced concrete structure designed in a functionalist style by the Austrian architect Kurt Schlauss was erected for use as a students’ hostel. However, it was initially occupied by UNIDO, which had its offices there until the UNO City complex was completed. After the UN moved to its new home in Vienna’s 22nd district, the building was run as a students’ hostel up until its conversion and even kept operations up and running throughout the first conversion phase from 2009 to 2011 – an immense challenge for the architects in terms of organisation and planning. When the rooftop structure was completed in 2011, this part of the building, which houses the suites and the rooftop bar, began its operations as a hotel for the first time. Thirty-four of the hotel’s 219 rooms are suites located on the 6th and 7th floors.

After the students moved out in 2011, the existing building underwent a comprehensive renovation, which was completed in 2013. It was adapted to meet the highest structural and technical standards, without compromising its original physiognomy. The façade was insulated from the inside and given a contemporary nook with the near-black colour on the outside.

The hotel’s opening in April 2013 marked the conclusion of this sensitive project, which is located in a prominent spot between the high-density 7th district and the historical 1st district.

In its capacity as general planner, BWM was responsible for the overall reconstruction and extension of the 1970s student residence. The cool, new glass cuboid on the roof and the dramatic black façade give the original building complex an attractive new appearance. The refurbished building is now a design hotel operated by the 25hours hotel group.

Interior design by Dreimeta
Interior design by Dreimeta

Task
Extension of a dormitory and conversion into a hotel in two construction phases: 2009–2011_Three-story roof conversion including bar, terrace. 2011–2013_Transformation into a hotel including seminar rooms, spa facilities, underground garage

Status
Completion 04/2013

Area
12.900 m² Bruttogeschossfläche

Location
Wien, Österreich

Client
LF 1-3 Immobilienentwicklung und -verwertung GmbH

Category
4 Stars

BWM Team
Markus Kaplan, Christian Burggraf, Hubert Meyer, Harald Ofner, Thomas Rataj, Michael Roland Köcher, Birgit Rosenthal, Lazlo Stern, Andreas Votzi

Image credit
Rupert Steiner, 25hoursHotel, BWM Architekten/Christoph Panzer

Participants

On-site construction supervision
BWM, Bubel Eichhorn, Pawlik Cons. GmbH

Project controlling
c-performance Baumanagement

Interior design
dreimeta

Statics
Aste Weissteiner ZT GmbH

Domestic engineering
PME Technisches Büro

Construction physics
Raab-Engeneering GmbH

Interior courtyard design
Liz Zimmermann (external collaboration)

Feasibility Study, Operator Search
PKF hotelexperts GmbH

Press

26 July 2018

FAZ

Drei Tage, zwei Nächte Wien

PDF

23 June 2013

Die Presse Spectrum

Platte mit Präsenz

PDF

19 September 2011

Cool Vienna - teNeues City Guide

25 hours Hotel

30 August 2011

Architektur & Bau Forum

Manege wachgekuesst

PDF

25 July 2011

ImmoKurier

Ab in die Manege

PDF

20 July 2011

DHD

Tra clown e acrobati/A design with clowns and acrobats

PDF

5 June 2011

Bau Magazin

Aufstockung als statische Herausforderung

PDF

1 April 2011

The Design Hotels Book

25hours Hotel Wien, Vienna

PDF

1 April 2011

Design Hotels Made by Originals

The Storytellers

PDF

23 March 2011

Falter

Auf den Köpfen der Studenten

PDF

BWM Architekten

En Suche Menu
25hours Hotel Wien beim MuseumsQuartier
25hours Hotel Wien beim MuseumsQuartier
25hours Hotel Wien beim MuseumsQuartier
25hours Hotel Wien beim MuseumsQuartier
25hours Hotel Wien beim MuseumsQuartier
25hours Hotel Wien beim MuseumsQuartier
25hours Hotel Wien beim MuseumsQuartier

Die spektakuläre Verwandlung eines 70er Jahre Studentenheims in ein cooles Designhotel des 21. Jahrhunderts

BWM Architekten haben in einer ersten Bauphase einen dreigeschossigen Glaskörper aufgesetzt, in dem sich 35 individuell gestaltete Apartments sowie eine exklusive Bar befinden. 2013 wurde nach einer zweiten Ausbauphase auch der bestehende Bau dem Hotelbetrieb übergeben. Der neue, anthrazitfarbene Anstrich der Waschbetonfassade verhilft dem Gebäude zu neuer Sichtbarkeit im Stadtbild und dem Hotelensemble zu einer zeitgemäßen Präsenz.

Markus Kaplan
Die Fassade des Glaskörpers orientiert sich an der kompakten Gliederung der Bestandsfassade und bildet mit diesem einen neuen zeitgemäßen Baukörper.
Markus Kaplan

Spektakuläre Aussicht vom Dachkubus

Hervorragendstes architektonisches Merkmal des neuen Hotels ist der gläserne, kubische Aufbau mit drei Dachgeschoßen, die dem Gebäude ein klares Gepräge verleihen. Die Fassade des Glaskörpers orientiert sich an der kompakten Gliederung der Bestandsfassade und bildet mit diesem einen neuen zeitgemäßen Baukörper. Hier befinden sich großzügige Hotelsuiten und -Zimmer, von denen sich eine prachtvolle Aussicht auf die umgebende Stadtlandschaft mit Parlament und den historischen Palais Trautson und Auersberg bietet. Das oberste Dachgeschoß ist mit seiner vorgelagerten breiten Terrasse als öffentliches Café auch einem breiteren Publikum zugänglich und kann mit dem Panoramalift vom Park aus direkt erreicht werden. Es hat sich seit seiner Eröffnung 2011 zu einem beliebten Treffpunkt und Hotspot sowohl für die Wiener Bevölkerung als auch für die internationalen Hotelgäste entwickelt.

Neue Sichtbarkeit

Nach Realisierung dieser ersten Baustufe erfolgte die zweite Ausbaustufe des bestehenden Baukörpers, der sich U-förmig bis in die rückseitige Mechitaristengasse erstreckt. In diesen Trakt wurden mittels Ein- und Ausschnitten ein Patio und ein Freibereich im ersten Untergeschoß geschaffen, um die hier befindlichen Seminar- und Wellnessbereiche entsprechend belichten und belüften zu können. Das Hotel verfügt insgesamt über 219 Zimmer, davon befinden sich 35 Suiten im 6. und 7. Obergeschoß und sind komplett mit Küchenzeilen ausgestattet.

Der Hauptzugang wurde von der Lerchenfelderstraße aus zentral mit der neuen Hotellobby im Parterre geschaffen. Die alte Waschbetonfassade wurde durch einen anthrazitfarbenen Anstrich aufgefrischt – sie verhilft dem etwas vergessenen Gebäude im Stadtbild zu neuer Sichtbarkeit.

BWM Architekten verstehen das Projekt als Beitrag zu einem differenzierten Umgang mit dem Bestand moderner Architektur im innerstädtischen Kontext. Es ist aber auch ein Plädoyer für die Qualität und die Überzeugungskraft der pragmatischen Bauweise des Spätfunktionalismus.

Mehr Sichtbarkeit im Stadtbild dank neuem Anstrich
Mehr Sichtbarkeit im Stadtbild dank neuem Anstrich

Ein Gebäude im Wandel

1969 wurde die sechsstöckige Stahlbetonkonstruktion des österreichischen Architekten Kurt Schlauss als Studentenheim in einem funktionalistischen Baustil errichtet, ging aber zunächst als Bürogebäude der UNIDO in Betrieb, die es bis zur Fertigstellung der UNO-City nutzte. Nach Übersiedlung der UN-Organisation in den 22. Wiener Bezirk wurde es als Studentenheim bis zum Umbau weitergeführt und blieb auch während der ersten Umbauphase 2009-2011 weiterhin in Betrieb, was eine große organisatorische und planerische Herausforderung für die Architekten bedeutete. Mit Abschluss des Dachgeschoßaufbaus 2011 konnte dieser Bauteil mit den Suiten und der Dachbar seinem neuen Zweck als Hotel erstmals zugeführt werden.

Nach Auszug der Studierenden wurde die ursprüngliche Bausubstanz ab 2011 einer umfassenden Renovierung unterzogen, die 2013 abgeschlossen war. Das Gebäude wurde bauphysikalisch und technisch den neuesten Standards angepasst, ohne dass es sein ursprüngliches Gesicht verloren hätte. Die Fassade wurde daher innen gedämmt, außen erhielt sie mit der fast schwarzen Farbgebung die notwendige Auffrischung.

Mit der Eröffnung im April 2013 erfolgte der Abschluss dieses städtebaulich sensiblen Projekts an markanter Stelle zwischen dicht bebautem siebtem Bezirk und historischem ersten Bezirk.

BWM Architekten realisierten als Generalplaner den Gesamtumbau und die Erweiterung eines bestehenden Studentenheims aus den 1970er-Jahren und verhalfen dem alten Gebäudeblock mit einem coolen Dachkubus und einer dramatischen schwarzen Fassade zu neuer Attraktivität. Der revitalisierte Bau wird als Designhotel der Themenhotel-Gruppe 25hours mit Standort Wien geführt.

Interior Design by Dreimeta
Interior Design by Dreimeta

Aufgabe
Aufstockung eines Studentenheims und Umbau in ein Hotel in zwei Bauphasen: 2009–2011_Dreigeschoßiger Dachaufbau mit Bar, Terrasse. 2011–2013_Umbau Hotel mit Untergeschoßen, Tiefgarage, Seminarräum und Wellnessbereich

Status
Fertigstellung 04/2013

Fläche
12.900 m² Bruttogeschossfläche

Standort
Wien, Österreich

Auftraggeber
LF 1-3 Immobilienentwicklung und -verwertung GmbH

Kategorie
4 Sterne

BWM Team
Markus Kaplan, Christian Burggraf, Hubert Meyer, Harald Ofner, Thomas Rataj, Michael Roland Köcher, Birgit Rosenthal, Lazlo Stern, Andreas Votzi

Bildnachweis
Rupert Steiner, 25hoursHotel, BWM Architekten/Christoph Panzer

Projektbeteiligte

ÖBA
BWM, Bubel Eichhorn, Pawlik Consulting GmbH

Haustechnik
PME Technisches Büro

Projektsteuerung
c-performance Baumanagement

Interiordesign
dreimeta

Statik
Aste Weissteiner ZT GmbH

Bauphysik
Raab-Engeneering GmbH

Innenhofdesign
Liz Zimmermann (externe Mitarbeit)

Feasibility studie, Betreibersuche
PKF hotelexperts GmbH

Presse

26 Juli 2018

FAZ

Drei Tage, zwei Nächte Wien

PDF

23 Juni 2013

Die Presse Spectrum

Platte mit Präsenz

PDF

19 September 2011

Cool Vienna - teNeues City Guide

25 hours Hotel

PDF

30 August 2011

Architektur & Bau Forum

Manege wachgekuesst

PDF

25 Juli 2011

ImmoKurier

Ab in die Manege

PDF

20 Juli 2011

DHD

Tra clown e acrobati/A design with clowns and acrobats

PDF

5 Juni 2011

Bau Magazin

Aufstockung als statische Herausforderung

PDF

1 April 2011

The Design Hotels Book

25hours Hotel Wien, Vienna

PDF

1 April 2011

Design Hotels Made by Originals

The Storytellers

PDF

23 März 2011

Falter

Auf den Köpfen der Studenten

PDF