BWM Architects

De Suche Menu
Waldrebengasse
Waldrebengasse

For the changing needs of single parents – affordable, sustainable and individual, thanks to the Matchbox modular system

The planning area’s eclectic character is the unique thumbprint of the urban development. Instead of a perimeter development, four separate buildings with eccentrically arranged staircases structure the site. On the ground floor, inserted structures are designated for special uses such as a kindergarten or a communal kitchen. The upper floors are slightly set back from the site’s boundaries, creating a continuous loop throughout the building. This loop gives children the freedom to roam the well-lit corridors – a convenient feature for the target group of single parents.

The additional spaces are tailored to the needs of small communities and range in size from small (a common room that can be used as a storage room for buggies, as a library, music room, etc., on each floor) to large (communal kitchen and children’s play area on the ground floor, communal garden on the upper floor). A mobility point and corresponding app also facilitate communal living, making it possible to quickly and easily borrow and share everything within the community, from a carrier bicycle to a drill.

The Matchbox modular system is perfectly suited to the changing needs of single parents. The floor plans of the units, which range in size from 33m2 to 100m2 and are generally two- or three-room flats, make the best possible use of limited space with maximum flexibility.

In addition, the modular system created by BWM ensures a high quality of living, thanks to continuous glazing, a ceiling height of 2.6m and generous outside spaces along the entire length of each unit. The cost-effective serial construction method and the space-saving form of delivery and unadulterated use of materials make the Matchbox system both intelligent and practical.

The free space encircling the buildings culminates in the courtyard, which is divided into different sections by means of plant curtains; shrubs, perennials, hedges and climbing plants afford the ground-floor units a reasonable degree of privacy. Inspired by the partnership with the City of Vancouver and the forest theme, a number of maple trees adorn the courtyard, a totem pole in the visual axis creates a sense of identity and children can play in the tepees on the playground.

Task
Public property developer competition in Vienna-Donaustadt by wohnfonds wien in cooperation with the city of Vienna. A realization concept based on the 4-pillar model (economy, social sustainability, architecture and ecology) for the building site in 1220

Status
Competition 01/2020

Client
EGW Heimstätte Gesellschaft m.b.H.

BWM Team
Markus Kaplan, Gerhard Girsch, Clemens-Veit Hörl, Maximilian Fasslabend, Paul Gaunersdorfer

Participants

Fire protection planning & building physics
DI Erich Röhrer Bauphysik

HKLS
Ingenieurbüro Lothar Mayer GmbH

Landscape planner
Simma Zimmermann landscape architects OG

Statics
Wörle Sparowitz Ingenieure Ziviltechnier GmbH

Model construction
Mattweiss architecture model construction

Visualization
carpenter Kastler

Advice
Graf-Hochtechnik GmbH

BWM Architekten

En Suche Menu
Waldrebengasse
Waldrebengasse

Für die wechselnden Bedürfnisse Alleinerziehender – günstig, nachhaltig und individuell dank Modulbau-System Matchbox

Die vielschichtige Durchmischung des Planungsgebietes wird zum identitätsstiftenden Merkmal des Städtebaus – anstelle einer Blockrandbebauung erfolgt eine Gliederung in vier Einzelbaukörper, mit außermittig ausgerichteten Stiegenhäusern. Das Erdgeschoss zeichnet sich durch eingeschobene Baukörper aus, die für Sondernutzungen wie etwa einen Kindergarten oder eine Gemeinschaftsküche vorgesehen sind. Die Obergeschosse rücken von den Grundgrenzen ab, was einen durchgängigen Rundlauf, einen Loop, im gesamten Haus ermöglicht – ganz im Sinne der Zielgruppe Alleinerziehender, denn so können sich Kinder völlig frei in den jeweils am Ende belichteten Gängen bewegen.

Das räumliche Zusatzangebot ist ebenfalls auf die Bedürfnisse kleiner Nachbarschaften zugeschnitten und reicht von klein (Gemeinschaftsraum nutzbar als Kinderwagenabstellplatz, Bibliothek, Musikzimmer etc am Stock) bis groß (Gemeinschaftsküche und Spielbereich im EG bzw. Gemeinschaftsgarten im OG). Ein Mobility Point samt zugehöriger App erleichtert das Zusammenleben zudem, vom Lastenfahrrad bis zur Bohrmaschine kann alles schnell und einfach in der Hausgemeinschaft geteilt werden.

Umgesetzt wird das Projekt mit der Modulbauweise des Matchbox-System, das sich ideal an die wechselnden Bedürfnisse Alleinerziehender anpasst. Die Grundrisse ermöglichen eine größtmögliche Flexibilität auf wenig Raum – von 33 m2 bis 100 m2 Fläche reicht das Angebot, vorrangig als 2 bis 3 Zimmer-Wohnungen.

Darüberhinaus schafft das Modulsystem by BWM mittels durchgehender Fensterfronten, einer Raumhöhe von 2,6 Metern und großzügigen Freiräumen über die gesamte Wohnungslänge eine sehr hohe Wohnqualität. Die ökonomisch sparsame, serielle Bauweise sowie eine platzsparende Anlieferung und der puristischer Einsatz der Materialien machen Matchbox zu einem durchdachten wie praktischen System.

Der Freiraum zieht sich um die Baukörper und bildet einen Schwerpunkt im Wohnhof. Dieser ist durch Pflanzen-Vorhänge zoniert und bietet jeder Wohnung dank der Bepflanzung mit Sträuchern, Stauden, Hecken und Kletterpflanzen eine angemessene Privatheit. Inspiriert durch die Kooperation mit der Stadt Vancouver und das Thema des Waldes, begrünen zahlreiche Ahornbäume den Hof, in der Sichtachse wurde ein identitätsstiftender Totempfahl platziert und am Kinderspielplatz laden Tipis zum Verstecken und Indianer-Spielen ein.

Aufgabe
Öffentlicher Bauträger-Wettbewerb in Wien-Donaustadt von wohnfonds wien in Kooperation mit Stadt Wien. Ein Realisierungskonzept nach dem 4-Säulen-Modell (Ökonomie, Soziale Nachhaltigkeit, Archi-tektur und Ökologie) für den Bauplatz in 1220 Wien

Status
Wettbewerb 01/2020

Auftraggeber
EGW Heimstätte Gesellschaft m.b.H.

BWM Team
Markus Kaplan, Gerhard Girsch, Clemens-Veit Hörl, Maximilian Fasslabend, Paul Gaunersdorfer

Projektbeteiligte

Brandschutzplanung & Bauphysik
DI Erich Röhrer Bauphysik

HKLS
Ingenieurbüro Lothar Mayer GmbH

Landschaftsplaner
Simma Zimmermann Landschaftsarchitektinnen OG

Statik
Wörle Sparowitz Ingenieure Ziviltechnier GmbH

Modellbau
Mattweiss Architekturmodellbau

Visualisierung
Schreiner Kastler

Beratung
Graf-Hochtechnik GmbH