BWM Architects

De Suche Menu
MILESTONE Student Living
MILESTONE Student Living
MILESTONE Student Living
MILESTONE Student Living
MILESTONE Student Living
MILESTONE Student Living
MILESTONE Student Living

Industrial cosiness – that is how BWM Architekten describe their new design concept for MILESTONE Student Living, a Europe-wide operator of residence halls geared toward students and young professionals. The first location in this new look has been realised in Portugal and opened its doors just in time for the start of the new academic year.

BWM Architekten have developed a new design concept for MILESTONE Student Living, which they call “industrial cosiness”. Contrasting materials and visual elements create a compelling, contemporary look. The furniture consists of a modular system that uses black steel tubing – the “industrial” aspect. This is combined with wood and fabric elements – the “cosiness” aspect. On top of that, the colour concept is adapted to the region in which the respective residence hall is located. BWM’s modern design concept was first realised at Porto Asprela in Portugal, which opened its doors just in time for the start of the new academic year. BWM have also developed separate corporate design manuals for all of the other residences.

Individual apartments & modern common areas

MILESTONE stands for the student residences of the future: The cleverly furnished apartments offer the economic structure of a conventional student residence combined with the comfort of individual flats and modern, social common areas. In addition to the basic furnishings including their own bathroom and kitchenette, residents can also make use of the general infrastructure. This includes inviting common areas such as the lobby (which also serves as a living room), kitchens, learning lounges and MILESTONE gyms. A cleaning service, WLAN and a technical support service are also available to residents.

Erich Bernard
Furniture consisting of a modular system that uses black steel tubing, and a ceiling featuring rough concrete represent the “industrial” aspect.
Erich Bernard

When hard steel meets soft fabric …

“Industrial cosiness” is the term used by the Vienna-based architecture firm BWM Architekten to describe their design concept for MILESTONE Student Living. “Furniture consisting of a modular system that uses black steel tubing, and a ceiling featuring rough concrete represent the “industrial” aspect,” BWM architect Erich Bernard explains. Wooden flooring, curtains and upholstery add the “cosiness” aspect. A strong, modern marriage that is absolutely on trend.

Colour-defined areas

The colour concept is also consistent with the motto. For each location, BWM Architekten developed an individual colour scheme consisting of two contrary yet complementary colours that suit the specific region; for example, pink grouting outlining white tiles, and green boxes on brown shelves. The various areas of the apartments are also colour-defined, and the living area has a different flooring from the kitchen and bathroom areas. This zoning concept creates a sense of spaciousness.

Sophisticated nestable system

“The free-standing furniture can be arranged according to residents’ personal preferences. It is also nestable, meaning that the desk can be pushed into the small shelf, and the small shelf, in turn, can be stored inside the large shelf,” says Anke Stern, BWM project manager. This makes storage easy. The steel tubing system can also be adapted flexibly to the specific situation at each location.

Signature furniture for Instagram & Co

The open lobby provides space for the various social needs of student life. As the heart of each MILESTONE Student Living, it is also multi-functional. The design motto is also evident in the lobby: open ceilings and steel pipe frames underline the industrial character and are combined with cosy elements like carpets and curtains. “We have given each location one signature piece of furniture in a unique, eye-catching colour such as gold, where everyone will enjoy hanging out – not only Instagrammers,” BWM architect Markus Kaplan explains tongue-in-cheek.

Relaxed communication

Different materials set apart the individual areas, such as reception, working table, café and lounge area, yet still create a connection and allow a seamless transition between study and leisure time.

The Resident Manager literally resides in the middle of the action, is therefore an integral part of the goings on at the residence and the primary contact person. The reception desk also has regional references; in Porto, for instance, it features typical, brightly coloured Portuguese tiles. A cohesive aesthetic concept for the needs of today’s students.

Task
New design concept for MILESTONE Student Living, student apartments and common areas (including lobby, office, MILESTONE gym, learning lounges, club room)

Status
Completion 09/2019

Client
value one holding AG / MILESTONE Student Living

Implementation Location

MILESTONE Porto Asprela, Porto, Portugal – Opening September 2019

MILESTONE Carcavelos Lombos, Lissabon, Portugal – Opening January 2020

various locations in Europe follow

BWM Team
Markus Kaplan, Anke Stern, Katharina Wöhrer, Lena Hainzinger, Greta Moso

Image credit
MILESTONE
Markus Kaiser

Participants

Strategic Advice
PKF hotelexperts GmbH

BWM Architekten

En Suche Menu
MILESTONE Student Living
MILESTONE Student Living
MILESTONE Student Living
MILESTONE Student Living
MILESTONE Student Living
MILESTONE Student Living
MILESTONE Student Living

Industrial Cosiness – so das neue Designkonzept von BWM Architekten für die europaweit vertretenen MILESTONE Student Living. Bereits der zweite Standort im neuen Look eröffnete in Portugal.

BWM Architekten entwickelten das neue Designkonzept von MILESTONE Student Living: „Industrial Cosiness“ so das Thema, umgesetzt wird es mittels gegensätzlicher Materialen, Optiken sowie Elementen, die sich in ihrem Kontrast perfekt ergänzen und so ein spannendes, zeitgemäßes Gesamtbild schaffen. Ein modulares schwarzes Stahlrohrmöbel-System – „Industrial“ – kombiniert mit Elementen in Holzoptik bzw. aus Stoff – „Cosiness“ – sowie ein auf den jeweiligen Standort abgestimmtes Farbkonzept sind die Eckpfeiler des modernen Designs. Bereits umgesetzt wurde dieses im portugiesischen Porto Asprela, rechtzeitig zum neuen Semester im Februar eröffnete 2020 auch der Standort Carcavelos Lombos, ebenfalls in Portugal. Für alle weiteren Häuser haben BWM ein eigenes Corporate Design Manual entwickelt.

Individuelle Apartments & moderne Community-Bereiche

MILESTONE steht für neues studentisches Wohnen: Die clever eingerichteten Apartments bieten die ökonomische Struktur eines Studentenheims kombiniert mit dem Komfort individueller Apartments und moderner, geselliger Community-Bereiche. Zur Grundausstattung mit eigenem Bad und eigener Küchenzeile kann die allgemeine Infrastruktur mitbenutzt werden. Dazu gehören kommunikative Treffpunkte wie die Lobby, die auch als Wohnzimmer fungiert, Küchen, Learning Lounges oder MILESTONE Gyms. Ein Reinigungsservice, Wlan und ein technischer Supportservice stehen den Bewohnern ebenfalls zur Verfügung.

Erich Bernard
Ein modulares, schwarzes Stahlrohrmöbel-System sowie rauer, nüchterner Beton an der Decke stehen beispielgebend für die “Industrial”-Komponente in den Apartments.
Erich Bernard

Wo harter Stahl auf weichen Stoff trifft …

“Industrial Cosiness” so das Motto des Design-Konzeptes vom Wiener Architekturbüro BWM für die europaweit vertretenen MILESTONE Student Living. “Ein modulares, schwarzes Stahlrohrmöbel-System sowie rauer, nüchterner Beton an der Decke stehen beispielgebend für die “Industrial”-Komponente in den Apartments,” führt BWM Architekt Erich Bernard aus. Das nötige Quentchen “Cosiness” wird mittels Holzboden-Optik, Vorhängen und Möbelstoffen ins Spiel gebracht  – eine starke, moderne Paarung direkt am Puls der Zeit.

Farblich abgegrenzt

Das Motto setzt sich überdies in der Farbgebung fort. Für jeden Standort wurde eine individuelle, regional abgestimmte, konträre, aber kommunzierende Farb-Paarung entwickelt – so korrespondieren Fugen mit Fliesen oder Boxen mit Regalen. Farblich abgegrenzt sind auch die jeweiligen Bereiche innerhalb der Apartments, der Wohnbereich unterscheidet sich im Bodenbelag vom Küchen- und Badbereich – eine Zonierung, die ein Gefühl von Weitläufigkeit vermittelt.

Durchdachtes, schachtelbares System

“Die freistehenden Möbel sind als flexibles System gestaltet, das auf die jeweiligen Bedürfnisse wie long stay und short stay angepasst werden kann. Sie sind etwa ineinander schachtelbar, was bedeutet, der Schreibtisch kann bei Bedarf in das kleine Regal geschoben werden, das kleine Regal findet wiederum im großen Regal Platz …”, erklärt BWM-Projektleiterin Anke Stern. Individueller Stauraum leicht gemacht. Das flexible Stahlrohrsystem passt sich ebenso flexibel an die Gegebenheiten eines jeden Standortes an.

Signature-Furniture für Instagram & Co

Die offene Lobby bietet den unterschiedlichen Möglichkeiten des studentischen Zusammentreffens entsprechenden Raum und kann multifunktional genutzt werden – sie ist das Herz eines jeden MILESTONE Student Living. Auch hier ist das Design-Thema Programm: Offene Decken und Stahlrohrgestelle bringen den Industrial-Charakter ins Spiel und treffen auf Cosy-Elemente wie Teppiche und Vorhänge. “Ein jeder Standort verfügt über ein einzigartiges Signature-Furniture, das jeweils in einer definierten Sonderfarbe wie etwa Gold auch augenfällig gestaltet ist und nicht nur Instagram-affines Publikum zum Verweilen einlädt”, erklärt BWM Architekt Markus Kaplan.

Zwanglos kommunikativ

Die einzelnen Bereiche wie Empfang, Workingtable, Café oder Lounge-Area sind optisch gefasst dank entsprechender Materialien, schaffen aber dennoch jeweils eine Verbindung und ermöglichen so einen fließenden Übergang von Studieren und Freizeit.

Der Empfang ist ebenso zwanglos wie das Wohnen an sich – der Resident Manager residiert sprichwörtlich mitten im Geschehen, ist Teil des Treibens und erster Ansprechpartner. Am Empfangsthresen findet sich auch der regionale Bezug wieder, in Porto etwa mittels portugiesischer, bunter Schmuckfliesen. Ein stringentes, ästhetisches Konzept für moderne, studentische Ansprüche.

Aufgabe
Neues Designkonzept für den Gesamtauftritt von Milestone Studentenwohnheimen, Studentenapartments und Community Bereiche (inkl. Lobby, Office, MILESTONE Gym, Learning Lounges, Clubraum)

Status
Fertigstellung 09/2019

Auftraggeber
value one holding AG / MILESTONE Student Living

Implementation Location

MILESTONE Porto Asprela, Porto, Portugal – Opening September 2019

MILESTONE Carcavelos Lombos, Lissabon, Portugal – Opening January 2020

various locations in Europe follow

BWM Team
Markus Kaplan, Anke Stern, Katharina Wöhrer, Lena Hainzinger, Greta Moso

Bildnachweis
MILESTONE
Markus Kaiser

Projektbeteiligte

Strategieberatung
PKF hotelexperts GmbH