BWM Architects

De Suche Menu
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg

Following the redesign of the Sheraton Grand’s taste.it restaurant in 2017, BWM Architekten have also redesigned the lobby of the famous 5-star hotel in Salzburg. The interior design reflects the traditional “Salzburg style” with such typical materials as marble and loden fabric, but translated into a modern form language.

The Sheraton Grand is located right next to the world-famous Mirabellgarten, Mirabell Palace and the busy Kongresshaus Salzburg, and is not far from Salzburg’s picturesque Old Town. BWM Architekten’s objective for their redesign of the 310m2 lobby was for guests to immediately notice the traditional regional style when entering the 5-star hotel. “Our intent with the interior design was to translate a typical rural style into a contemporary form language, which, in spite of clear local references, is by no means provincial or blatantly rustic, but rather exudes the exclusivity and international character of the Sheraton brand,” BWM architect Erich Bernard explains.

Marble and loden

To achieve this, BWM Architekten used materials that are typical for the Mozart city, such as the famous Adneter marble for the flooring and a red limestone with ammonites, which is also known as “Salzburg marble” and is used as a décor stone around the world. “The upholstery fabrics also reference the Salzburg style,” says BWM project manager Rita Guggenberger. “We used loden in red and green, which are the typical colours of the national costume, and combined them with muted colours like beige and grey.”

A place of tranquillity

The goal was to transform the lobby into a restful oasis in spite of the continual coming and going. The central waiting area, reminiscent of an island, was positioned on a carpet specially designed by BWM for this project with a red and green checkered pattern. Three free-standing, wood-clad reception desks located in a niche lined with oak panelling ensure that check-in is a speedy process. The use of natural materials and subtle colours, and the special attention given to suitable lighting, creates a relaxed, casual atmosphere – a place of tranquillity. Adneter marble, terrazzo and Nero Marquina form a checkered pattern on the floor. The walls have oak panelling as well as flowing, curtain-like panelling in gently shaded, light colours. The ceiling is three-dimensional and coffered, it reflects the floor’s check pattern and is highlighted by indirect lighting.

Guests access the lobby from a covered approach, from which they can already enjoy a magnificent view of the hotel’s outdoor area and the famous Mirabellgarten. This porch is lavishly decorated with plants, as a reference to the world-famous gardens and as a kind of indoor extension of the park.

Erich Bernard
Our intent with the interior design was to translate a typical rural style into a contemporary form language, which, in spite of clear local references, is by no means provincial or blatantly rustic, but rather exudes the exclusivity and international character of the Sheraton brand.
Erich Bernard

The library as a quiet haven

The lobby leads through to the in-house taste.it restaurant, which BWM Architekten already redesigned in 2017. A spacious library with wood panelling on the walls, ceiling and floor now forms an intermediate zone between the lobby and the restaurant, or an extension of the entrance axis. Two fireplaces and cosy seating niches covered in leather make this a comfortable place for guests to relax – with an unobstructed view of Salzburg’s green heart.

Boardroom

The boardroom, located directly next to the lifts, is ideal for dynamic meetings in small groups; the centrally positioned table seats about 10 people. The “Salzburg style” of the lobby extends into the boardroom in the form of the green loden upholstery of the chairs. Thanks to its continuous glass front, the room has a lot of natural light; if necessary, the velvet curtains in muted colours can be drawn. The boardroom is equipped with the latest technology, all connections and a large screen.

Task
Redesign of the lobby of the Sheraton Grand in Salzburg

Status
Completion 07/2019

Client
Park-Hotelgesellschaft m.b.H. & Co. KG

BWM Team
Rita Guggenberger (PL), Gabriele Bruner, Ismail Berkel

Participants

Execution planning building construction
architecture office Genböck

Lighting design
Megumi Ito

Curation and equipment decorative elements
Atelier Peter Weisz

F&B Planning
Christian Bayer-Eissler

BWM Architekten

En Suche Menu
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg

BWM Architekten haben – nach dem hoteleigenen Restaurant taste.it 2017 – auch die Lobby des renommierten5-Sterne-Hotels Sheraton Grand in Salzburg einer Neugestaltung unterzogen. Das Interior Design spiegelt den Lokalkolorit, das „Salzburgische“, wider, etwa durch für die Mozartstadt typische Materialien wie Marmor oderLoden – übersetzt in eine moderne Formsprache.

In zentraler Lage, unweit der pittoresken Altstadt von Salzburg, grenzt das Sheraton Grand direkt an den weltbekannten Mirabellgarten, das gleichnamige Schloss sowie das stark frequentierte Kongresshaus Salzburg. Diesen Lokalkolorit sollte man auch sogleich beim Betreten des 5-Sterne-Hauses erkennen und spüren können, so der Anspruch für die Neugestaltung der 310 m2 großen Lobby durch BWM Architekten. „Die Kunst des Interior Designs lag für uns darin, einen ländlich-salzburgischen Stil in eine zeitgemäße Formensprache zu übersetzen, welche trotz eindeutig lokaler Bezüge nichts Provinzielles, plakativ Heimatliches ausstrahlt, sondern die Exklusivität des Hauses und die Internationalität der Marke ‚Sheraton’ ebenso wahrnehmbar macht,“ führt BWM-Architekt Erich Bernard aus.

Marmor und Loden

In diesem Sinne wurden für die Mozartstadt typische Materialein verwendet wie etwa der bekannte Adneter Marmor als Bodenbelag, ein roter Ammoniten führender Kalkstein, der auch „Salzburger Marmor“ genannt als Dekorstein weltweite Verbreitung findet. „Auch die Wahl der Bezugsstoffe sind Zitate des ‚Salzburgischen’“, so BWM-Projektleiterin Rita Guggenberger. „Loden kommt in seinen für die Landestracht typischen Farben Rot und Grün zum Einsatz, dazu werden gedeckte Töne wie Beige und Grau kombiniert.“

Ort der Begegnung und Ruhe

Ziel war es, die Lobby trotz der steten Betriebsamkeit in eine Wohlfühloase zu verwandeln. Die zentrale Wartezone wurde, inselgleich, auf einem von BWM speziell für dieses Projekt entworfenem Teppich mit ebenfalls rot-grünem Karomuster positioniert. Drei freistehende, holzverkleidete, in einer mit Eichenvertäfelung ausgekleideten Nische positionierte Rezeptionspulte ermöglichen einen schnellen Check-In. Dank des Einsatzes von natürlichen Materialien und sanften Farben sowie unter besonderer Berücksichtigung der passenden Beleuchtung konnte eine entspannte, ungezwungene Stimmung, ein Ort der Ruhe geschaffen werden. Adneter Marmor, Terrazzo und Nero Marquina bilden ein Karo am Boden. Die Wände sind mit Eichenvertäfelungen und Vorhang ähnlichen, fließenden Verkleidungen in sanft abgetönten, hellen Farben gehalten. Die Decke wurde dreidimensional, das Karo des Bodens widerspiegelnd, kassettiert und mittels indirekter Beleuchtung ins Szene gesetzt.

Die Lobby wird über einen Windfang erschlossen, welcher bereits den herrlichen Blick in den dahinterliegenden Außenbereich des Hotels und damit den berühmten Mirabellgarten freigibt. Als Verweis auf diese weltbekannte Parkanlage und quasi als Indoor-Erweiterung dieser wurde der Windfang entsprechend üppig mit Pflanzen ausgestattet.

Erich Bernard
Die Kunst des Interior Designs lag für uns darin, einen ländlich-salzburgischen Stil in eine zeitgemäße Formensprache zu übersetzen, welche trotz eindeutig lokaler Bezüge nichts Provinzielles, plakativ Heimatliches ausstrahlt, sondern die Exklusivität des Hauses und die Internationalität der Marke ‚Sheraton’ ebenso wahrnehmbar macht.
Erich Bernard

Ruhepol Bibliothek 

Durch die Lobby gelangen die Gäste weiter in das hauseigene Restaurant taste.it, für dessen Neugestaltung BWM Architekten bereits 2017 verantwortlich zeichneten. Als Zwischenzone zum Restaurant bzw. als Verlängerung der Eingangsachse wurde eine großzügige Bibliothek installiert, die an Wand, Decke wie Boden mit Holzvertäfelungen verkleidet ist. Zwei Kaminsituationen sowie gemütliche, mit Leder ausgekleidete Sitznischen laden den Gast zum Verweilen ein – den Blick stets freigebend auf das grüne Herz Salzburgs.

Board Room

Direkt neben den Aufzügen wurde der sogenannte Board Room eingerichtet – ideal für dynamische Besprechungen im kleinen Kreis finden am zentralen Tisch rund 10 Personen Platz. Das „Salzburgische“ der Lobby setzt sich im grünen Lodenbezug der Stühle fort. Dank der durchgängigen Glasfront wird der Besprechungsraum in angenehmes Tageslicht getaucht, bei Bedarf können die Samtvorhänge in gedeckten Farben zugezogen werden. Technisch am neuesten Stand ist der Board Room mit allen Anschlüssen sowie einem großen Screen ausgestattet.

Aufgabe
Neugestaltung der Lobby des Sheraton Grand in Salzburg

Status
Fertigstellung 07/2019

Auftraggeber
Park-Hotelgesellschaft m.b.H. & Co. KG

BWM Team
Rita Guggenberger (PL), Gabriele Bruner, Ismail Berkel

Projektbeteiligte

Ausführungsplanung Hochbau
Architekturbüro Genböck

Lichtplanung
Megumi Ito

Kuration und Ausstattung Dekorationselemente
Atelier Peter Weisz

F&B Planung
Christian Bayer-Eissler