BWM Architects

De Suche Menu
Lower Austria national exhibition 2015
Lower Austria national exhibition 2015
Lower Austria national exhibition 2015
Lower Austria national exhibition 2015
Lower Austria national exhibition 2015
Lower Austria national exhibition 2015
Lower Austria national exhibition 2015
Lower Austria national exhibition 2015
Lower Austria national exhibition 2015
Lower Austria national exhibition 2015
Lower Austria national exhibition 2015
Lower Austria national exhibition 2015
Lower Austria national exhibition 2015

White, cubic-abstract architecture, deliberately designed as a contrast to the rural environment.

A more than unusual location, the shed of the Mariazellerbahn in the Laubenbachmühle, was the venue for the part of the Lower Austrian Provincial Exhibition 2015 planned by BWM Architects. 2014, the new building of the hall with its dimensions of more than ten metres room height and more than sixty metres length, planned by the architect Johannes Zieser, was awarded the timber construction prize. The exhibition took place here, in these light-flooded rooms.

Johann Moser
The exhibition design is intended as an entertaining, didactic instrument for reflection on the cultural landscape of the Mariazell region.
Johann Moser

A sensual, tangible staging

It tells the story of the agricultural, tourist and cultural use of the Ötscher landscape in the context of the entire Alpine region. The supporting structure was a wooden frame built into the hall, whose two levels made it possible to walk around the exhibition. This architecture was developed in cooperation with the Zieser office, which was also responsible for the realisation of this installation. The task of the exhibition design was to stage this framework in a dramaturgical and varied way. It was necessary to find spatial and scenographic stagings in order to convey the contents (curator: Beat Gugger) in a way that could be grasped by the senses.

Stimulating reflection

Completely in white, this abstract "exhibition landscape" was deliberately set in contrast to the shed and its surrounding landscape: The exhibition design was intended to be an entertaining, didactic instrument for reflecting on the cultural landscape of the Mariazellerland, in order to make visitors want to explore this landscape themselves after passing through it: At the end of the exhibition trail, visitors should tie their hiking boots and follow their senses!

A tour through the exhibition ...

The tour began on the gallery floor, where open platforms and closed rooms alternated: Farmhouse parlour, pantry, a glass room with the Josefsberg pictures or a peep-box into the night sky. After reaching the second exhibition level, visitors were offered a panoramic overview of the entire exhibition and above all a great perspective on the central installation on the ground floor, a comprehensive map of the Alpine arc. One got a view and an awareness of the dimension of the Alps – from Ötscher to Nice.

Adventure trip through the Mariazell region

Here on the map the connection of the Ötscher region to the entire Alpine world could be traced: A large Ötscher model and a media installation showed the development of the Ötscher region from the Ice Age to the present day, a pilgrimage route made of barrier tapes showed the centuries-old route to Mariazell, and in a dark carriage the picturesque route of the Mariaziellerbahn could be experienced exclusively with the ears. These and many other adventure stations awaited the audience in an entertaining journey through the cultural landscape of the Mariazell region.

Task
Exhibition architecture of the 2015 Lower Austria State Exhibition; design, final planning, site supervision

Status
Completion 04/2015

Area
2.000 m²

Location
Frankenfels, Österreich

Client
Schallaburg Kulturbetriebs GmbH

BWM Team
Sanja Utech, Alexander Wildzeisz, Heike Dralle

Image credit
BWM Architekten/Klaus Pichler

Participants

Architecture
Zieser Architekt

museum educator
zunder zwo

Graphics
Perndl+Co, www.perndl.at

Press

1 September 2015

morgen

Architektur mit Groove

PDF

BWM Architekten

En Suche Menu
Niederösterreichische Landesausstellung 2015
Niederösterreichische Landesausstellung 2015
Niederösterreichische Landesausstellung 2015
Niederösterreichische Landesausstellung 2015
Niederösterreichische Landesausstellung 2015
Niederösterreichische Landesausstellung 2015
Niederösterreichische Landesausstellung 2015
Niederösterreichische Landesausstellung 2015
Niederösterreichische Landesausstellung 2015
Niederösterreichische Landesausstellung 2015
Niederösterreichische Landesausstellung 2015
Niederösterreichische Landesausstellung 2015
Niederösterreichische Landesausstellung 2015

Weiße, kubisch-abstrakte Architektur, die bewusst als Kontrast zur ländlichen Umgebung angelegt ist.

Eine mehr als ungewöhnliche Location, die Remise der Mariazellerbahn in der Laubenbachmühle, war der Austragungsort für den von BWM Architekten geplanten Teil der Niederösterreichischen Landesausstellung 2015. Der vom Architekten Johannes Zieser 2014 geplante Neubau der Halle mit seinen Ausmaßen von mehr als zehn Metern Raumhöhe und über sechzig Metern Länge, wurde mit dem Holzbaupreis ausgezeichnet. Die Ausstellung fand hier, in diesen lichtdurchfluteten Räumen statt.

Johann Moser
Die Ausstellungsgestaltung soll als unterhaltsames, didaktisches Instrument zur Reflexion über die Kulturlandschaft des Mariazellerlandes einladen.
Johann Moser

Sinnliche erfassbare Inszenierung

Erzählt wird die Geschichte der landwirtschaftlichen, touristischen bzw. kulturellen Nutzung der Ötscher- Landschaft im Kontext des gesamten Alpenraumes. Trägerstruktur war ein in die Halle eingebautes Holzgestell, das mit seinen zwei Ebenen einen Rundgang in der Ausstellung ermöglichte. Diese Architektur wurde gemeinsam mit dem Büro Zieser erarbeitet, das auch die Realisierung dieses Einbaues besorgte. Aufgabe der Ausstellungsgestaltung war es, diesen Rahmen dramaturgisch und abwechslungsreich in Szene zu setzen. Es galt, räumliche und szenografische Inszenierungen zu finden, um die erarbeiteten Inhalte (Kurator: Beat Gugger) sinnlich erfassbar zu vermitteln.

Zur Reflexion anregen 

Komplett in Weiß, war diese abstrakte „Ausstellungslandschaft“ ganz bewusst als Kontrast zur Remisenhalle und deren umgebender Landschaft gesetzt: Die Ausstellungsgestaltung sollte als unterhaltsames, didaktisches Instrument zur Reflexion über die Kulturlandschaft des Mariazellerlandes einladen, um den Besucherinnen und Besuchern Lust zu machen, diese Landschaft nach dem Durchgang selber freudig zu erkunden: Am Ende des Ausstellungsweges sollte man die Wanderschuhe schnüren und seinen Sinnen folgen!

Ein Rundgang durch die Ausstellung …

Der Rundgang begann im Galeriegeschoß, wo sich offene Plattformen und geschlossene Räume abwechselten: Bauernstube, Speisekammer, ein Glasraum mit den Josefsberg-Bildern oder ein Guckkasten in den Nachthimmel. Nach Erreichen der zweiten Ausstellungsebene bot sich den Besuchern ein panoramaartiger Überblick über das gesamte Ausstellungsgeschehen und vor allem eine tolle Perspektive auf die zentrale Installation im Erdgeschoß, einer flächendeckenden Karte des Alpenbogens. Man bekam einen Blick und ein Bewusstsein für die Dimension der Alpen – vom Ötscher bis nach Nizza.

Erlebnisreise durchs Mariazeller Land

Hier auf der Karte ließ sich die Verbindung der Ötscherregion zu der gesamten Alpenwelt verfolgen: Ein großes Ötscher-Modell und eine Medieninstallationen vermittelten die Entwicklung der Ötscherregion von der Eiszeit bis heute, eine Pilgerstrecke aus Absperrbändern thematisierte den Jahrhunderte alten Weg nach Mariazell, in einem finsteren Waggon ließ sich die pittoreske Zugstrecke der Mariaziellerbahn ausschließlich mit den Ohren erleben. Diese und viele weitere Erlebnisstationen erwarteten das Publikum in einer unterhaltsamen Reise durch die Kulturlandschaft des Mariazeller Landes.

Aufgabe
Ausstellungsarchitektur der Niederösterreichischen Landesausstellung 2015; Entwurf, Ausführungsplanung, ÖBA

Status
Fertigstellung 04/2015

Fläche
2.000 m²

Standort
Frankenfels, Österreich

Auftraggeber
Schallaburg Kulturbetriebs GmbH

BWM Team
Sanja Utech, Alexander Wildzeisz, Heike Dralle

Bildnachweis
BWM Architekten/Klaus Pichler

Projektbeteiligte

Architektur
Zieser Architekt

Museumspädagogik
zunder zwo

Grafik
Perndl+Co, www.perndl.at

Presse

1 September 2015

morgen

Architektur mit Groove

PDF