BWM Architects

De Suche Menu
New museum building for archeological department of Eggenberg castle
New museum building for archeological department of Eggenberg castle
New museum building for archeological department of Eggenberg castle
New museum building for archeological department of Eggenberg castle
New museum building for archeological department of Eggenberg castle
New museum building for archeological department of Eggenberg castle
New museum building for archeological department of Eggenberg castle

Contemporary, elegant exhibition design with the restrained use of materials and color.

As an extension of the existing lapidarium in Eggenberg Castle in Graz, the reorganization of the prehistory and early history collection and the antiquities cabinet was realized by BWM Architects and Partners in autumn 2009: Now the lapidarium and the new building together form a new, full-fledged room sequence connected by a transparent glass door Archaeological museum with the highlights of the Joanneum's archaeological collection.

Johann Moser
The underground, two-aisled exhibition hall with a central skylight lantern is divided into three areas with different floor levels.
Johann Moser

Well thought-out zoning

"The underground, two-aisled exhibition hall with a central skylight lantern is divided into three areas with different floor levels", explains BWM architect Johann Moser. Via a slightly rising ramp - as a reference to the architecture of the lapidarium - visitors are navigated along the exhibits to the rear area of the show, which leads back and connects the new building, lapidarium and planetary garden as part of the exhibition tour. The middle part of the hall - structured as open-separated units by concrete walls - presents itself as a sequence of rooms flooded with daylight. Here there is a research and relaxation zone for visitors, a “construction container” specially developed for children, and a “laboratory table” with a small changing exhibition area.

Bright and light room structure

The use of materials and colors was deliberately reserved: the gray of the exposed concrete walls and screed of the 651 m² hall, designed as a raw concrete shell, forms the calm and subtle background for the approx. 1,250 consistently small-format exhibits. These are presented, as it were, floating in the room in highly transparent, all-glass showcases with backlit glass shelves that are freely distributed in the room, which additionally structure the room rhythmically. The highlights of the collection - such as the Strettweger Wagen - are highlighted in floor-to-ceiling showcase columns, the positioning of which in the four main axes of the new building also marks the route.
The architecture and exhibition display of the Archaeological Museum combine to form a contemporary, elegant unit, a consistently thought-out spatial structure that radiates lightness and brightness.

The gray of the exposed concrete walls and screed of the hall, designed as a raw concrete shell with an area of 651 m², forms the calm and subtle background for the approx. 1,250 consistently small-format exhibits.
Johann Moser

Task
Realization of a new museum building as an underground extension of the existing lapidarium and re-installation of the Joanneum's archaeological collection

Status
Completion 09/2009

Location
Graz, Österreich

Client
Landesmuseum Joanneum GmbH

BWM Team
Christoph Panzer, Wolfgang Leitgeb

Image credit
Paul Ott
Rupert Steiner

Participants

Construction supervision
Thomas Baumegger

HVAC
TecMan Haustechnik GmbH

Statics
Petschnigg, Zeichenbüro

Building physics
Dr. Pfeiler GmbH

Lighting designer
Vedder Lichtplanung

Graphic
Lichtwitz

Extension of the Lapidarium
PURPUR Architektur

Outbuilding
PURPUR Architektur

Curators
Museum‘s staff

BWM Architekten

En Suche Menu
Archäologiemuseum Schloss Eggenberg
Archäologiemuseum Schloss Eggenberg
Archäologiemuseum Schloss Eggenberg
Archäologiemuseum Schloss Eggenberg
Archäologiemuseum Schloss Eggenberg
Archäologiemuseum Schloss Eggenberg
Archäologiemuseum Schloss Eggenberg

Zeitgemäß-elegantes Ausstellungsdesign mittels zurückhaltendem Einsatz von Materialien und Farbe.

Als Erweiterung des bestehenden Lapidariums im Grazer Schloss Eggenberg wurde die Neuaufstellung der Ur- und Frühgeschichtlichen Sammlung und des Antikenkabinetts von BWM Architekten und Partner im Herbst 2009 realisiert: Nun bilden Lapidarium und Neubau gemeinsam als zusammengehörende, durch eine transparente Glastür verbundene Raumsequenz ein neues, vollwertiges Archäologisches Museum mit den Höhepunkten der archäologischen Sammlung des Joanneum.

Johann Moser
Die unterirdische, zweischiffige Ausstellungshalle mit mittig durchlaufender Oberlicht-Laterne gliedert sich in drei Bereiche mit unterschiedlichen Bodenniveaus.
Johann Moser

Durchdachte Zonierung

„Die unterirdische, zweischiffige Ausstellungshalle mit mittig durchlaufender Oberlicht-Laterne gliedert sich in drei Bereiche mit unterschiedlichen Bodenniveaus“, führt BWM Architekt Johann Moser aus. Über eine leicht ansteigende Rampe – als Verweis auf die Architektur des Lapidariums – werden die Besucher entlang der Exponate in den hinteren Bereich der Schau navigiert, der eben zurückführt und als Teil des Ausstellungsrundgangs Neubau, Lapidarium und Planetengarten verbindet. Der Mittelteil der Halle – durch Betonwände als offen-separierte Einheiten strukturiert – präsentiert sich als vom Tageslicht durchflutete Raumfolge. Hier finden sich eine Recherche- und Ruhezone für die Besucher, ein eigens für Kinder entwickelter „Baucontainer“ sowie ein „Labortisch“ mit kleinem Wechselausstellungsbereich.

Helles & leichtes Raumgefüge

Bewusst zurückhaltend der Einsatz von Materialien und Farbe: Das Grau von Sichtbetonwänden und Estrich der als rohe Betonhülle konzipierten Halle mit einer Fläche von 651 m² bildet den ruhig-dezenten Hintergrund für die ca. 1.250 durchwegs kleinformatigen Exponate. Diese werden gleichsam im Raum schwebend in hochtransparenten, frei im Raum verteilten Nurglasvitrinen mit hinterleuchteten Glasböden präsentiert, die den Raum zusätzlich rhythmisch gliedern. Die Highlights der Sammlung – etwa der Strettweger Wagen – werden in raumhohen Vitrinensäulen hervorgehoben, deren Positionierung in den vier Hauptachsenpunkten des Neubaus auch die Wegführung markiert.

Architektur und Ausstellungsdisplay des Archäologischen Museums verbinden sich zu einer zeitgemäß-eleganten Einheit, einem konsequent durchdachten Raumgefüge, das Leichtigkeit und Helligkeit ausstrahlt.

Das Grau von Sichtbetonwänden und Estrich der als rohe Betonhülle konzipierten Halle mit einer Fläche von 651 m² bildet den ruhig-dezenten Hintergrund für die ca. 1.250 durchwegs kleinformatigen Exponate.
Johann Moser

Aufgabe
Realisierung eines Museumsneubaus als unterirdische Erweiterung des bestehenden Lapidariums sowie Neuaufstellung der archäologischen Sammlung des Joanneum

Status
Fertigstellung 09/2009

Standort
Graz, Österreich

Auftraggeber
Landesmuseum Joanneum GmbH

BWM Team
Christoph Panzer, Wolfgang Leitgeb

Bildnachweis
Paul Ott
Rupert Steiner

Projektbeteiligte

ÖBA
Thomas Baumegger

HKLS
TecMan Haustechnik GmbH

Statik
Petschnigg, Zeichenbüro

Bauphysik
Dr. Pfeiler GmbH

Lichtplanung
Vedder Lichtplanung

Grafik
Lichtwitz

Zubau
Purpur Architektur

Kutatoren
wissenschaftliches Team des Joanneums