BWM Architects

De Suche Menu

BWM Architekten gave the new House of Austrian History the feel of a contemporary laboratory within the representative imperial architecture of the Neue Burg at Vienna’s Heldenplatz.

As the winner of an EU-wide competition, BWM Architekten were responsible for the architectural design of the House of Austrian History on the Heldenplatz. The concept evolved from the interplay between the imposing imperial spaces on the one hand and the contemporary history presented in the museum on the other. The historical architecture is first underlined by the design of the grand staircase, then it is utilised as a narrative background in the first exhibition room, and finally completely faded out in the modern history laboratory – a neutral space, entirely in white, intended to promote the development of new, contemporary perspectives. The exhibition “Aufbruch ins Ungewisse – Österreich seit 1918” (Into the Unknown – Austria Since 1918) presents 100 years of history on an area of 750m2.

Johann Moser
We have tried to make productive use of this – typically Austrian – tension between the imperial representation on the one hand and the reality of our republic on the other, and to use this monumental architecture as a catalyst for both an impressive spatial experience and enlightening insights.
Johann Moser

Empire v republic

Located in one of Austria’s most significant places in terms of symbolism and history, the House of Austrian History (hdgö) opened its doors in the Neue Burg at Vienna’s Heldenplatz on 10 November 2018. “The imposing Habsburg architecture of the Neue Burg poses a challenge for a contemporary museum that aims to examine the past from the point of view of the present for the future,” says Johann Moser of BWM Architekten. “We have tried to make productive use of this – typically Austrian – tension between the imperial representation on the one hand and the reality of our republic on the other, and to use this monumental architecture as a catalyst for both an impressive spatial experience and enlightening insights.”

Group picture in the magnificent staircase: Anke Stern, Johann Moser and Magdalena Geppl (centre) from BWM Architekten with Sanja Utech (all left), Irina Koerdt and Emanuel Gollob (both right)
Group picture in the magnificent staircase: Anke Stern, Johann Moser and Magdalena Geppl (centre) from BWM Architekten with Sanja Utech (all left), Irina Koerdt and Emanuel Gollob (both right)

From yesterday to today

Moser explains the dramatic composition of the approach as follows: “Visitors entering the Neue Burg and walking up the grand staircase can experience the manipulative effect of this imposing architecture for themselves. The first steps up the labyrinthine staircase have a somewhat disorienting and confusing effect, there is almost a sense of heaviness. But from step to step, one gains more of an overview, which boosts one’s confidence, until, upon reaching the highest point, a feeling of grandeur and sovereignty emerges, in a seemingly infinite marble ‘spaceship’.”

In order to do justice to the House of Austrian History’s self-imposed standards of topicality and independence in the midst of this imposing, monarchical history, the designers made use of such ideas as the “lightness of light”: a cloud projection (advertising agency: Jung von Matt/Donau) that features the colours of the Austrian flag and guides visitors through the magnificent labyrinthine staircase up through the Ephesos Museum into the House of Austrian History with both great symbolic weight and surprising lightness. BWM Architekten developed a media-based orientation system that merges with the architecture and at the same time paves the way for the new momentum that has entered the building. The entrance to the new museum houses the reception area, welcome desk, a café, and event and multi-use areas. These, too, are highly representative by virtue of their classicist décor, while the functional, modern furnishings underline the present-day point of view.

Turbulent transition – take a step back to 12 November 1918

Upon entering the first exhibition room, visitors are transported back to the events of 12 November 1918 – the hub of the room is a mobile scaffold with film projections. All presentation elements are made of sturdily dimensioned metal scaffolding tubes and equipped with wheels. The opening exhibition “Aufbruch ins Ungewisse – Österreich seit 1918” (Into the Unknown – Austria Since 1918) does its title justice. The dissonance between feudal interior décor and mobile equipment with a provisional character allows visitors to truly experience the general theme of this room: the eventful transition from monarchy to democracy.

In the exhibition: cork model of the signing of the state treaty
In the exhibition: cork model of the signing of the state treaty

A modern history laboratory

Leaving 12 November 1918 behind them, visitors then enter a completely different scenery: A bright exhibition room with white walls, a white ceiling, white floor, white exhibition architecture – the history laboratory. A dense laboratory that is not a rigid facility, but can rather be adapted to the different research topics and reconstructed accordingly.

The heart of the exhibition is atmospherically completely detached from the context of the imposing classicist Neue Burg and deliberately designed as a neutral space. The approximately 570m2 room is divided into two different narrative strands: On the right, the chronologically arranged “visual memory” in the form of a large shelf system leads to the end of the exhibition space – here, 100 years of history are presented along 60 linear metres. Neon dates in 10-year increments provide orientation. A large number of interactive elements allow visitors to delve more deeply into a topic and create personal points of contact; for instance, visitors’ own images – provided by them in electronic form – can be added to the collection and thus become part of the public visual memory.

Special topics as micro-scenes

The second narrative strand is the main area on the left hand side of the laboratory. It is not structured chronologically, but is rather divided into five thematic islands, each of which is designed as an independent laboratory unit, with the colour white tying them all together. Micro-scenes encapsulate the content of the individual laboratory arrangements: Small houses with abstract “kitsch décor”, for example, take a tongue-in-cheek look at the theme “This is Austria!?”. In the “Borders Change?” area, lattice elements serve as object carriers and form barriers in the room. Other thematic islands are designed in a functionally “neutral” way, as table showcases or display racks. The colours of the graphic elements (graphics: Stefan Fuhrer) correspond to the respective themes, thus aiding orientation.

Tiered seating areas at the beginning and at the end of the exhibition underline the discursive educational approaches and allow groups of visitors to be specifically addressed.

Change in perspective

Because the exhibition rooms form a cul-de-sac, a classic round tour is not possible. For this reason, the designers deliberately did not specify a fixed route, but arranged the thematic islands as an “open field”, so that it’s up to the visitors themselves which path they choose. Making their way back, they get to discover things they missed before, or can take a second look at what they’ve already seen.

“If one sees the path from Heldenplatz up the magnificent staircase into the House of Austrian History as a journey – accompanied by architecture – through time into the present, I hope that after visiting the exhibition, as they walk back through those same monumental rooms, the visitors may have a changed, more forward-looking perspective …”concludes Johann Moser.

Task
Architecture, exhibition design and part of the general planning for the House of History Austria (hdgö).

Status
Completion 11/2018

Area
Austria

Location
Vienna

Client
Austrian National Library

BWM Team

Team Wettbewerb
Johann Moser, Massimiliano Marian, Roland Stöttner

Team Projekt
Johann Moser, Anke Stern, Magdalena Geppel, Sanja Utech, Irina Koerdt

Image credit
hdgö / Hertha Hurnaus
BWM Architekten / Klaus Pichler
eSeL / Lorenz Seidler

Participants

Tender
Bubeleichhorn ZT GmbH, Oliver Eichhorn

Lighting design
fourth minute light design, Phiilipp Metternich

Electrical planning
Vasko und Partner, Rene Thot

Acoustic planning
Hamp-Armbruster Bauphysik OG

Fire safety planning
brandRat ZT GmbH

Graphic design
Fuhrer Visuelle Gestaltung OEG, Stefan Fuhrer Media planning: cat-x exhibitions Prix KG

Site supervision
Danzinger ZT & Ingenieure, Michael Aue

Awards

19 October 2020

#iconicawards_hdgö

Winner video for Iconic Award 2020, Innovative Architecture, exhibition design – the house of Austrian history (hdgö) ranges among the “Selection” awards. Click here for the Iconic Directory.

Awarded twice!

4 August 2020

Awarded twice!

Two Iconic Awards 2020 for BWM! The House of Austrian History (hdgö) is among the “Selection” while the Oberlaa Stadthaus has received the “winner” award! The awarding ceremony is expected to take place on the 5 October 2020 at the Pinakothek der Moderne in Munich. All winners here.

German Design Award 2020

10 February 2020

German Design Award 2020

BWM Architekten are twice among the winners of the German Design Award 2020! The House of Austrian History and the Salon Sacher have been selected as “Winner” in the “Excellent Architecture” category. The official award ceremony took place in Frankfurt on the 7 February 2020.

National Design Prize 2019 – finalist!

10 July 2019

National Design Prize 2019 – finalist!

We are proud that three BWM projects have made it on the shortlist of the Staatspreis Design 2019, the National Design Prize 2019. We are among the finalists with the Salon Sacher, the LGV-Gärtnergschäftl and the House of Austrian History/Haus der Geschichte Österreich (hdgö) and thus represented in the accompanying catalogue as well as at the exhibition at designforum Vienna.

Press

5 December 2018

Architektur & Bau Forum

Zeitlaboratorium

PDF

10 November 2018

Immo Kurier

100 Jahre auf 60 Metern

PDF

2 November 2018

Die Presse "Schaufenster"

Architektur mit dem Schuhlöffel

PDF

26 October 2018

APA

Ausstellungsarchitektur für Geschichtslabor

PDF

BWM Architekten

En Suche Menu
Haus der Geschichte Österreich (hdgö)
Haus der Geschichte Österreich (hdgö)
Haus der Geschichte Österreich (hdgö)
Haus der Geschichte Österreich (hdgö)
Haus der Geschichte Österreich (hdgö)
Haus der Geschichte Österreich (hdgö)
Haus der Geschichte Österreich (hdgö)
Haus der Geschichte Österreich (hdgö)

BWM Architekten gestalten das neue Haus der Geschichte Österreich als zeitgenössisches Laboratorium inmitten der kaiserlichen Repräsentationsarchitektur der Neuen Burg am Heldenplatz.

Als Sieger eines EU-weiten Wettbewerbes zeichnen BWM Architekten für die architektonische Gestaltung des Haus der Geschichte Österreich am Wiener Heldenplatz verantwortlich. Das Konzept ist aus dem Spannungsfeld des Standortes heraus entwickelt: dominante imperiale Räume treffen auf republikanische Gegenwart. Beim Aufgang im Prunkstiegenhaus wird die historische Architektur mit inszeniert, im ersten Ausstellungsraum gezielt als erzählerischer Hintergrund instrumentalisiert und schließlich im modernen Geschichts-Laboratorium komplett ausgeblendet – als neutraler Raum inszeniert und ganz in Weiß gehalten, soll es die Entfaltung neuer, heutiger Blickwinkel unterstützen. 100 Jahre Geschichte wurden für die Ausstellung „Aufbruch ins Ungewisse – Österreich seit 1918“ auf 750 m² umgesetzt.

Johann Moser
Wir versuchen dieses – typisch österreichische – Spannungsmoment von imperialer Repräsentationshülle und republikanischer Wirklichkeit produktiv einzusetzen und die monumentale Umgebung als Schwungmasse sowohl für ein beeindruckendes Raumerlebnis als auch für aufklärerischen Erkenntnisgewinn zu nutzen
Johann Moser

Imperiale Räume und republikanische Wirklichkeit

Angesiedelt an einem der symbol- und geschichtsträchtigsten Orte Österreichs eröffnet mit 10. November 2018 das Haus der Geschichte Österreich, kurz hdgö, in den Räumlichkeiten der Neuen Burg am Wiener Heldenplatz. „Die dominante habsburgische Repräsentationsarchitektur der Neuen Burg stellt für ein zeitgenössisches Museum, das die Vergangenheit aus dem Blickwinkel der Gegenwart für die Zukunft untersuchen möchte, durchaus eine Herausforderung dar,“ bringt Johann Moser, BWM Architekten, es auf den Punkt. „Wir versuchen dieses – typisch österreichische – Spannungsmoment von imperialer Repräsentationshülle und republikanischer Wirklichkeit produktiv einzusetzen und die monumentale Umgebung als Schwungmasse sowohl für ein beeindruckendes Raumerlebnis als auch für aufklärerischen Erkenntnisgewinn zu nutzen.“

Gruppenbild im Prunkstiegenhaus: Anke Stern, Johann Moser und Magdalena Geppl (Mitte) von BWM Architekten mit Sanja Utech (ganz li.), Irina Koerdt und Emanuel Gollob (beide re.)
Gruppenbild im Prunkstiegenhaus: Anke Stern, Johann Moser und Magdalena Geppl (Mitte) von BWM Architekten mit Sanja Utech (ganz li.), Irina Koerdt und Emanuel Gollob (beide re.)

Vom Gestern ins Heute

Die Dramaturgie der Annäherung erklärt Moser wie folgt: „Wer die Neue Burg betritt und das Prunkstiegenhaus hinaufsteigt, der kann die manipulative Wirkung dieser Beeindruckungsarchitektur am eigenen Leib erleben. Bei den ersten Schritten in der labyrinthischen Treppenanlage ist man noch etwas desorientiert und verwirrt, beinahe bedrückt, aber steigt man Treppe für Treppe höher, vergrößert sich der Überblick und mit ihm auch die Selbstsicherheit – bis sich, am höchsten Punkt angelangt, ein Gefühl der Erhabenheit und Souveränität einstellt, in einem sich schier ins Endlose biegenden marmornen ‚Raumschiff’.“
Um dem Anspruch auf Aktualität und Eigenständigkeit des hdgö inmitten dieser dominanten, monarchischen Vergangenheit gerecht zu werden, bedienen sich die Gestalter u.a. der Leichtigkeit des Lichts: Eine rot-weiß-rote Wolkenprojektion (Werbeagentur: Jung von Matt/Donau) leitet die Besucher symbolisch bedeutungsvoll und gleichzeitig überraschend leicht durch das labyrinthische Prunkstiegenhaus hinauf durch das Ephesos-Museum in das hdgö. Ein mediales Leitsystem wurde entwickelt, das mit dem Gebäude inszenatorisch verschmilzt und zugleich den neuen Schwung, der hier einzieht, ankündigt. Am Eingang des neuen Museums sind Empfang, Vermittlung, Cafe, Veranstaltungs- und Allgemeinbereiche untergebracht. Auch diese Räume sind durch das klassizistische Dekor stark repräsentativ, die funktionell-moderne Möblierung unterstreicht wiederum den Blick aus der Gegenwart.

Bewegter Übergang – mit einem Schritt im 12. November 1918

Betritt man den ersten Ausstellungsraum findet sich der Besucher inmitten der Geschehnisse des 12. November 1918 wieder – ein mobiles Gerüst mit Filmprojektionen ist Dreh- und Angelpunkt im Raum. Alle Ausstellungselemente sind aus kräftig dimensionierten, metallenen Gerüstrohren zusammengefügt und mit Rädern ausgerüstet. „Der Aufbruch ins Ungewisse“, der Titel der Eröffnungsausstellung, ist Programm. Die Dissonanz zwischen feudalem Raumdekor und provisorisch anmutenden, mobilen Gerätschaften, macht das Generalthema dieses Raumes sinnlich erfahrbar, der bewegte Übergang von der Monarchie zur Demokratie wird mitinszeniert.

In der Ausstellung: Korkenmodell der Unterzeichnung des Staatsvertrags
In der Ausstellung: Korkenmodell der Unterzeichnung des Staatsvertrags

Ein modernes Geschichtslabor

Vom Raum des 12. November 1918 aus betritt man eine völlig andere Szenerie. Ein heller Ausstellungsraum mit weißen Wänden, weißer Decke, weißem Boden, weißer Ausstellungsarchitektur: das Geschichtslabor. Ein dichtes Laboratorium, das nicht als starre Einrichtung konzipiert ist, sondern vielmehr den jeweiligen Untersuchungsthemen angepasst und entsprechend umgebaut werden kann.
Das Herzstück der Ausstellung ist atmosphärisch völlig dem Kontext der Beeindruckung durch die klassizistische Neue Burg entzogen und bewusst als neutraler Raum gestaltet. Der ca 570 m2 große Raum ist in zwei verschiedene Erzählstränge geteilt: Rechter Hand führt das chronologisch aufgebaute „Bildgedächnis“ in Form eines großen Regalsystems bis ans Ende des Ausstellungsraums – 100 Jahre Geschichte auf 60 Laufmetern sind hier untergebracht. Neonziffern in 10-Jahres-Schritten helfen bei der Orientierung. Eine Vielzahl an interaktiven Elementen ermöglicht eine vertiefende Beschäftigung wie auch persönliche Anknüpfungspunkte, so können z.B. eigene Bilder für die Sammlung des Hauses elektronisch übergeben und damit Teil des öffentlichen Bildgedächnisses werden.

Themenschwerpunkte als Mikro-Inszenierungen

Die Hauptfläche des Labors ist nicht chronologisch, sondern in 7 Themeninseln strukturiert, jede einzelne unterschiedlich als eigenständige Labor-Einheit gestaltet. Die Farbe Weiß bildet die gestalterische Klammer. Einzelne Labor-Anordnungen werden durch Mikro-Inszenierungen inhaltlich lesbar gemacht: Häuschen mit abstrahiertem „Kitschdekor“ greifen so zum Beispiel das Thema „Das ist Österreich!?“ augenzwinkernd auf, im Bereich „Grenzen verändern?“ fungieren Gitterelemente als Objektträger und bilden Barrieren im Raum. Andere Themeninseln wiederum sind funktional „neutral“ als Tischvitrinen oder Raumgestelle gestaltet. Auch die Farbe der Grafikelemente (Grafik: Stefan Fuhrer) wird je nach Themenbereich differenziert und unterstützt so die Orientierung des Besuchers.
Tribünenelemente am Anfang und am Ende der Ausstellung unterstreichen die diskursiven Vermittlungsansätze – hier können gezielt Besuchergruppen angesprochen werden.

Veränderter Blickwinkel

Die Ausstellungsräume bilden eine Sackgasse und erlauben somit keine klassische Wegeführung als Rundgang. Daher wurde von den Gestaltern bewußt keine fixe Wegeführung vorgesehen, sondern die Themeninseln als „offenes Feld“ angeordnet, sodaß der Besucher nach Lust und Interesse seinen eigenen Weg wählen kann. Zugleich bietet der Rückweg das Potential zuvor nicht Gesehenes neu zu entdecken, bzw. bereits Gesehenes neu zu bewerten.
„Betrachtet man den Weg vom Heldenplatz durchs Prunkstiegenhaus ins Haus der Geschichte Österreich als architektonisch begleitete Reise durch die Zeit in die Gegenwart, so hoffe ich, dass nach dem Besuch der Ausstellung, beim Weg zurück durch die gleichen monumentalen Räumlichkeiten, der Blick des Besuchers möglicherweise doch ein veränderter, jedenfalls keiner zurück ins Gestern, sein möge …“ schließt Johann Moser.

Aufgabe
Architektur, Ausstellungsgestaltung und Teilgeneralplanung für das Haus der Geschichte Österrreich (hdgö).

Status
Fertigstellung 11/2018

Fläche
Österreich

Standort
Wien

Auftraggeber
Österreichische Nationalbibliothek

BWM Team

Team Wettbewerb
Johann Moser, Massimiliano Marian, Roland Stöttner

Team Projekt
Johann Moser, Anke Stern, Magdalena Geppel, Sanja Utech, Irina Koerdt

Bildnachweis
hdgö / Hertha Hurnaus
BWM Architekten / Klaus Pichler
eSeL / Lorenz Seidler

Projektbeteiligte

Grafik
Fuhrer Visuelle Gestaltung OEG

Medienplanung
cat-x exhibitions Prix KG

ÖBA
Danzinger ZT&Ingenieure

Ausschreibung
Bubeleichhorn ZT GmbH

Lichtplanung
fourth minute light design

Elektroplanung
Vasko und Partner

Akustikplanung
Hamp-Armbruster Bauphysik OG

Brandschutzplanung
brandRat ZT GmbH

Auszeichnungen

Kenneth Hudson Award für hdgö

10 Mai 2021

Kenneth Hudson Award für hdgö

Das Haus der Geschichte Österreich (hdgö) – gestaltet von BWM Architekten – wurde bei der Verleihung der European Museum of the Year Awards für beeindruckende „Zivilcourage, Ehrlichkeit und intellektuelle Klarheit“ mit dem Kenneth Hudson Award 2020 ausgezeichnet. Wir freuen uns!

19 Oktober 2020

#iconicawards_hdgö

Das Gewinner-Video zum Iconic Award 2020, Innovative Architecture, Austellungsdesign – das Haus der Geschichte Österreich (hdgö) kam in die „Selection“.  Zum Iconic Directory geht's hier.

Doppelt ausgezeichnet!

4 August 2020

Doppelt ausgezeichnet!

Zwei Iconic Awards 2020 für BWM! Das Haus der Geschichte Österreich (hdgö) kam in die „Selection“, das Oberlaa Stadthaus wurde als „Winner“ ausgezeichnet! Die Preisverleihung findet voraussichtlich am 5. Oktober 2020 in der Pinakothek der Moderne in München statt. Alle Gewinner hier.

German Design Award 2020

10 Februar 2020

German Design Award 2020

Zweifach ausgezeichnet. BWM zählt zu den Preisträgern des German Design Award 2020 – und das gleich doppelt! Das Haus der Geschichte Österreich (hdgö) wie auch der Salon Sacher wurden als „Winner“ in der Kategorie „Excellent Architecture“ ausgezeichnet. Die offizielle Preisverleihung fand am 7. Februar 2020 in Frankfurt statt.

Presse

10 Mai 2021

presseforum.at

Haus der Geschichte Österreich gewinnt renommierten „Kenneth Hudson Award“ des European Museum Forum

Link

10 Mai 2021

brandaktuell.at

Haus der Geschichte Österreich gewinnt renommierten „Kenneth Hudson Award“ des European Museum Forum

Link

5 Dezember 2018

Architektur & Bau Forum

Zeitlaboratorium

PDF

10 November 2018

Immo Kurier

100 Jahre auf 60 Metern

PDF

2 November 2018

Die Presse "Schaufenster"

Architektur mit dem Schuhlöffel

PDF

26 Oktober 2018

APA

Ausstellungsarchitektur für Geschichtslabor

PDF