BWM Architects

De Suche Menu
Museum for Austrian Literature
Museum for Austrian Literature
Museum for Austrian Literature
Museum for Austrian Literature
Museum for Austrian Literature
Museum for Austrian Literature
Museum for Austrian Literature
Museum for Austrian Literature
Museum for Austrian Literature
Museum for Austrian Literature
Museum for Austrian Literature

The former k.u.k. Hofkammerarchiv (Exchequer Archives) in Vienna was redesigned by BWM in cooperation with planet and Perndl+Co to create a new museum showcasing Austrian literature from the 18th century to the present day.

The pronounced Biedermeier features of the former Hofkammerarchiv formed the starting point for all the thoughts and ideas regarding the adaptation and transformation of the building into the new Literature Museum.

Exhibition and architecture as an inseparable unit

The architects not only preserved the archival interior of the listed building, but integrated it into the architectural exhibition concept, with display objects installed into the wooden shelving units. “Let the Building Do the Talking” became the motto for dealing with the building’s atmospheric, unique, and original fixtures – elements of functional architecture of a bygone era, which rarely survive the transformations of time without loss of substance.

Diversified guidance

The continuous wooden shelf system fills the floors in tight rows. Minimal and well-targeted interventions break the mono-linear structure, allowing for variable, dynamic visitor routing through the space. The second floor houses the former office of the Austrian writer and dramatist Franz Grillparzer, who held the position of Director of the Hofkammerarchiv until1856. The so-called “Grillparzer Room” is also open to the public. “On the one hand, the potential of a unique historic listing has been preserved, but at the same time the architects’ concept allows for a diverse overall experience,” said Johanna Rachinger, General Director of the Austrian National Library.

Johann Moser
This module system includes displays for posters and pictures, vitrines, light boxes, as well as book-like elements, all of which combine the historical character of the Archive with its new purpose as a Literature Museum.
Johann Moser

Modul system

BWM and planet handled this challenging situation by developing a set of components that can be variably integrated into the existing structure. Johann Moser: "This module system includes displays for posters and pictures, vitrines, light boxes, as well as book-like elements, all of which combine the historical character of the Archive with its new purpose as a Literature Museum". The stark black metal frames of the new presentation elements add a sense of modernity and act as a counterpoint to the antique wooden shelves. Materials like glass and elements such as light projections introduce a contemporary design repertoire.

Chronological tour with thematic highlights

Not only did BWM and planet develop an interior design concept for the exhibit, but they also integrated strategies for information dissemination on Austrian Literature. These strategies were developed in close cooperation with the curatorial team led by Dr. Bernhard Fetz.

The exhibition tour begins in the Grillparzer Room and weaves a loose chronological path through the Archive’s two floors. It begins with a monitor wall showing portraits of authors who symbolically welcome the visitors to the museum. The curatorial concept provides a chronological tour through the exhibition, with thematic highlights scattered throughout the timeline. The representation of time-specific objects and displays on literature is repeatedly interspersed with current themes that address central questions of Austrian identity and history.

By carefully removing certain sections of shelving, the architects created surprising spatial extensions. These “Kabinetträume” (“cabinet dreams”) offer seating areas where visitors can have a short rest or browse the media guide for more information on the exhibits.

The team around Johanna Rachinger (Generaldirektorin Österr. Nationalbibliothek) with Johann Moser (BWM), Gerhard Abel (Planet Architects), Gerhard Bauer  (Perndl+CO), Bernhard Fetz (Direktor des Literaturmuseums) (from left to right)
The team around Johanna Rachinger (Generaldirektorin Österr. Nationalbibliothek) with Johann Moser (BWM), Gerhard Abel (Planet Architects), Gerhard Bauer (Perndl+CO), Bernhard Fetz (Direktor des Literaturmuseums) (from left to right)

Immersing in new worlds

The third floor of the building is dedicated to changing exhibitions, starting in 2016. “The Literature Museum is a wonderful place to dive into the atmosphere of other worlds. Thanks to its unique architecture, it exudes a flair that is typical and specific for the Vienna of the past, and even for present-day Vienna,” said the planners Johann Moser and Gerhard Abel of BWM and planet, describing the appeal of new museum.

Use of the house

The building is shared by the Austrian State Archive and the Austrian National Library. The Austrian State Archive operates an event space and showroom next to the lobby and reception on the ground floor. The Literature Museum fills four floors: two floors house the permanent collection, another the changing exhibitions, and the fourth holds the Museum communication department and management.

Task
Design of the new Literature Museum of the Austrian National Library resulting from a 2-stage invited competition

Status
Completion Realisierung: 04/2013 - 04/2015

Client
Austrian National Library

BWM Team
Johann Moser, Michal Jiskra, Marlene Gesierich, Tanja Marben, Alexander Wildzeisz, Silke Schmitz

Image credit
ONB/Klaus Pichler
Skizze: Perndl+CO

Participants

General planner
BWM Architekten

Exhibition architecture
BWM Architekten + planet architects

Graphics
Perndl+Co

Media planning
Conceptual art Technologies | cat-x

Engineering
Ing Heiling GmbH

Awards

Shortlist State Prize for Design 2015

30 September 2015

Shortlist State Prize for Design 2015

Now available: The publication on the Austrian State Prize for Design 2015 with all projects shortlisted this year.
The Literature Museum of the Austrian National Library (OeNB) by BWM Architekten, PLANET architects and Perndl+Co was awarded as one of ten projects in the category Spatial Design.

Literaturmuseum OeNB

Press

29 January 2021

Schaufenster (Die Presse)

Jeder Raum ist Bühne

PDF

24 April 2015

Die Presse Spectrum

Am Anfang war Grillparzer

PDF

18 April 2015

Die Presse

Neue Wunderkammer fuer Oesterreichs Dichter

PDF

17 April 2015

Kurier

Das Archiv als Wunderkammer

PDF

BWM Architekten

En Suche Menu
Literaturmuseum Wien
Literaturmuseum Wien
Literaturmuseum Wien
Literaturmuseum Wien
Literaturmuseum Wien
Literaturmuseum Wien
Literaturmuseum Wien
Literaturmuseum Wien
Literaturmuseum Wien
Literaturmuseum Wien
Literaturmuseum Wien

Das ehemalige k.u.k. Hofkammerarchiv in Wien wurde von BWM gemeinsam mit planet und Perndl+Co zu einem Museum für die österreichische Literatur vom 18. Jahrhundert bis zur Gegenwart umgestaltet.

Das Gebäude aus der Zeit des Biedermeier ist eines der wenigen originalen Bauwerke aus dieser Epoche in Österreich. Diese architektonische Besonderheit bildete die Ausgangslage für die Umgestaltung und Adaptierung des Hofkammerarchivs zu einem modernen Literaturmuseum. BWM Architekten mit PLANET architects und Perndl+Co gewannen den geladenen zweistufigen Wettbewerb für das neue Literaturmuseum der Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek in Wien.

Ausstellung und Architektur als untrennbare Einheit

Der Archivcharakter im denkmalgeschützten Gebäude wurde nicht nur sichtbar erhalten, er ist zugleich Teil des architektonischen Konzepts, indem die Exponate direkt in die hölzerne Regalstruktur integriert wurden. Ausstellung und Architektur bilden dadurch eine untrennbare Einheit. „Den Ort sprechen lassen“ lautet das Motto für den Umgang mit den atmosphärisch einzigartigen originalen Einbauten − den Elementen einer Funktionsarchitektur einer vergangenen Epoche, die nur selten die Transformationen der Zeit ohne Substanzverlust überstanden hat.

Abwechslungsreiche Wegführung

Die umlaufenden hölzernen Regale füllen die Stockwerke in engen Zeilen aus. Mit gezielten, sparsamen Eingriffen wurde die monolineare Struktur durchbrochen und so die Voraussetzung für eine abwechslungsreiche Wegführung des neuen Museums geschaffen. Im zweiten Stock befindet sich die ehemalige Schreibstube des österreichischen Dramatikers Franz Grillparzer, der dem Hofkammerarchiv bis 1856 als Direktor vorstand. Dieses Zimmer wird als „Grillparzer-Zimmer“ ebenfalls der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht. „Es bleibt einerseits das Potenzial des einzigartigen Bestandes erhalten, zugleich aber ermöglicht das Konzept der Architekten auch ein sehr abwechslungsreiches Gesamterlebnis“, so Johanna Rachinger, Generaldirektorin der Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek.

Johann Moser
Dieses Modulsystem enthält Displays für Plakate und Bilder, klassische Vitrinen oder Leuchtboxen sowie buchähnliche Elemente, die den Charakter des Archivs und die neue Bestimmung als Literaturmuseum miteinander verbinden.
Johann Moser

Modulares System

BWM und planet entwickelten für diese spezielle und herausfordernde Situation ein Set an Einbauten, das frei variierbar in die bestehende Struktur integriert werden kann. Johann Moser: „Dieses Modulsystem enthält Displays für Plakate und Bilder, klassische Vitrinen oder Leuchtboxen sowie buchähnliche Elemente, die den Charakter des Archivs und die neue Bestimmung als Literaturmuseum miteinander verbinden.“ Als Kontrapunkt zu den historischen Holzregalen verfügen die neuen Präsentationselemente homogenisierend über schwarze Metallrahmen. Weitere moderne Materialien wie Glas oder Lichtprojektionen ergänzen das zeitgenössische Gestaltungsrepertoire.

Chronologischer Rundgang mit thematischen Einschüben

Neben der Einrichtung umfasst das von BWM zusammen mit planet entwickelte Konzept für das Museum auch die Gestaltung der Vermittlungsangebote für die österreichische Literatur. Diese wurden in intensiver Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kuratorenteam unter der Leitung von Dr. Bernhard Fetz entlang des kuratorischen Grundkonzepts, das einen chronologischen Rundgang mit thematischen Einschüben vorsieht, erarbeitet.

Der Ausstellungsrundgang beginnt mit dem Grillparzerzimmer, von dem aus ein loser chronologischer Weg durch das Archiv über zwei Geschosse angelegt ist. Auftakt der Präsentation bildet eine Monitorwand mit Porträts von Autorinnen und Autoren, die symbolisch den Eingangsbereich öffnet. Die Darstellung von zeitspezifischen Gegenständen und Exponaten zur Literatur wird immer wieder von gegenwartsbezogenen Themen unterbrochen, in der zentrale Fragen der österreichischen Identität und Geschichte angesprochen werden. Mini-Inszenierungen, die der Logik des Regaldisplays folgen, wurden lose in die Ausstellungsabfolge eingestreut. So wurde beispielsweise eine Kaffeehausszene oder eine Wohnlandschaft in die Präsentation integriert.

Durch die gezielte Entfernung einzelner Regalbereiche entstanden überraschende Raumerweiterungen. Diese Kabinetträume mit angegliederten Sitzzonen schaffen Abwechslung im Museumsrundgang und dienen der kurzen Entspannung oder der Vertiefung der präsentierten Inhalte über einen Tablet Computer.

Das Team rund um Johanna Rachinger (Generaldirektorin Österr. Nationalbibliothek) mit Johann Moser (BWM), Gerhard Abel (Planet Architects), Gerhard Bauer  (Perndl+CO), Bernhard Fetz (Direktor des Literaturmuseums) (v.l.n.r.)
Das Team rund um Johanna Rachinger (Generaldirektorin Österr. Nationalbibliothek) mit Johann Moser (BWM), Gerhard Abel (Planet Architects), Gerhard Bauer (Perndl+CO), Bernhard Fetz (Direktor des Literaturmuseums) (v.l.n.r.)

In neue Welten eintauchen

Auch der dritte Stock des Hauses mit seiner Originalregaleinrichtung steht dem Literaturmuseum für Wechselausstellungen zur Verfügung. Dieser Teil wird ab 2016 bespielt werden. „Das Literaturmuseum ist ein hervorragender Ort, um atmosphärisch in andere Welten zu tauchen. Durch seine architektonische Besonderheit atmet der Ort auch ein Flair, das für das vergangene Wien und selbst noch für das gegenwärtige typisch und spezifisch ist“, so die Planer Johann Moser und Gerhard Abel von BWM und planet zusammenfassend über das neue Museum.

Gemeinschaftliche Nutzung

Das Haus wird gemeinsam vom Österreichischen Staatsarchiv und der Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek genutzt. Im Erdgeschoß, neben Eingang und Empfang, betreibt das Österreichische Staatsarchiv eine Veranstaltungszone mit Schauraum. Dem Literaturmuseum stehen die vier Obergeschoße zur Verfügung. Zwei Stockwerke beherbergen die permanente Schausammlung, ein Geschoß dient Wechselausstellungen und eine Ebene steht der Museumsvermittlung und der Verwaltung zur Verfügung.

Aufgabe
Gestaltung des neuen Literaturmuseums der Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek hervorgegangen aus einem 2-stufigen geladenen Wettbewerb

Status
Fertigstellung Realisierung: 04/2013 - 04/2015

Auftraggeber
Österreichische Nationalbibliothek

BWM Team
Johann Moser, Michal Jiskra, Marlene Gesierich, Tanja Marben, Alexander Wildzeisz, Silke Schmitz

Bildnachweis
ONB/Klaus Pichler
Skizze: Perndl+CO

Projektbeteiligte

Generalplaner
BWM Architekten

Ausstellungsarchitektur
BWM Architekten + planet architects

Grafik
Perndl+Co

Medienplanung
Conceptual art Technologies |cat-x

Haustechnik
Ing. Heiling GmbH

Gebäudesanierung
Wehdorn Architekten im Auftrag der Burghauptmannschaft

Vitrinenbau
winter artservice

Medienhardware
7reasons

Medien Inszenierungen (Videos)
Zone Media

Szenographische Elemente
Wunderkammer

Elektriker
M-Teg

Grafikproduzent
Large Format (EH-Montagen)

Regal Restaurierung
Michael Sebestian-Hübsch

Möbeltischler
Tischlerei Geyrhofer

Auszeichnungen

Shortlist Staatspreis Design 2015

30 September 2015

Shortlist Staatspreis Design 2015

Soeben erschienen: Die Publikation zum österreichischen Staatspreis Design 2015 mit allen Projekten, die es dieses Jahr in die Shortlist geschafft haben. Das Literaturmuseum von BWM, PLANET und Perndl+Co wurde in der Kategorie Räumliche Gestaltung als eines der zehn besten Projekte ausgezeichnet.

Literaturmuseum OeNB

Presse

29 Januar 2021

Schaufenster (Die Presse)

Jeder Raum ist Bühne

PDF

24 April 2015

Die Presse Spectrum

Am Anfang war Grillparzer

PDF

18 April 2015

Die Presse

Neue Wunderkammer fuer Oesterreichs Dichter

PDF

17 April 2015

Kurier

Das Archiv als Wunderkammer

PDF