BWM Architects

De Suche Menu

Beautiful designer suites instead of vacant street-front shops – with this innovative hotel concept, BWM Architekten are now also taking on the role of hotelier.

grätzlhotel is a project of the Urbanauts Hospitality Group, which consists of architects and hotel and marketing experts. The theme can be summed up as ground floor utilisation, and the formats are garden-level and street-front studio apartments. BWM Architekten, in their capacity as hotel designer and interior expert, have designed the two grätzlhotels karmelitermarkt and meidlinger markt, creating accommodation with individual charm for guests seeking a unique, direct experience of Vienna. With this innovative hotel concept, BWM Architekten are now also taking on the role of hotelier – a role that has already earned them the Rolling Pin Award as “Hotelier of the Year”!

BWM Architekten have already made a name for themselves as hotel designers and architects. For the first time they are now venturing into the area of hotel management. They came up with an unconventional concept for the grätzlhotel and converted vacant street-front shops into charming suites and a reception. They came up with an unconventional concept for the grätzlhotel and converted vacant street-front shops into charming suites and a reception.

Markus Kaplan
The high-quality materials of the surfaces as well as vintage design objects from the surroundings convey an authentic, personal urban experience.
Markus Kaplan

In the middle of the Grätzl

The term “Grätzl” served as the inspiration: this typical Viennese word describes a neighbourhood within a city district with its own individual character and charm, which encompasses the immediate residential and commercial surroundings. This is where the locals and the business people meet, where they do their shopping and where they enjoy a cup of coffee. BWM drew on the idea of the Grätzl for their hotel concept: the aim is to allow guests to become part of these vibrant surroundings and experience the unique atmosphere first hand.

Authentic flair guaranteed

The design of the rooms is also part of the concept: no two suites are the same, with each one having its own distinct personality. The high-quality surface materials and vintage objects originating in the vicinity give guests an authentic, personal urban experience. There is no reception in the traditional sense. Instead, that role is assumed by typical urban spots: a market stall (grätzlhotel meidlinger markt) and a former lamp shop (grätzlhotel karmelitermarkt) that houses a café/restaurant aptly named zur rezeption.

Local stories

Although each suite merges with the urban life taking place right outside its window, the architects (BWM Architekten: grätzlhotel karmelitermarkt and grätzlhotel meidlinger markt; Kohlmayr Lutter Knapp: grätzlhotel belvedere) attached great importance to creating comfortable, safe havens. The suites are like small studio apartments, and the urban style mirrors their surroundings: tasteful, high-quality design combined with local elements. Original vintage lamps from a former lamp shop form a lighting constellation, and a bamboo jungle discovered in a quiet backyard inspired the design of the Viennese Jungle Room. The combination of elements of surprise, humour and irony, together with local stories, forms a vibrant collection of rooms.

The lamp shade maker Karmelitermarkt
The lamp shade maker Karmelitermarkt

A different kind of reception...

When converting the café zur rezeption, the architects merged old and new, preserved elements left over from its past days, and added new, relaxed design elements. The suites are as individual as the guests staying in them and have all modern conveniences. Each suite has a kitchenette as well as a rain shower and box spring bed. They also provide enough space for get-togethers with friends and spontaneous visitors.

Throughout Vienna

From the start, 21 suites were in operation at Belvedere, Meidlinger Markt and Karmelitermarkt. In July 2016 three further suites were added to the grätzlhotel meidlinger markt, and in 2018 the new grätzlhotel in the Neubau district opened its doors.

Task
Conversion of various ground-floor premises for use as hotel room at Karmelitermarkt / Meidlinger Markt

Status
Completion 01/2016

Location
Vienna, Austria

Client
URBANAUTS Hospitality Group

Rooms
28 Suites

BWM Team
Johann Moser, Hubert Meyer, Alexandra Spitzer, Ingrid Schmid, Yuriy Pryveda

Image credit
Heidrun Henke
Wolf Silveri
Monika Ngyuen
Severin Wurnig

Participants

Architecture and Interior Design grätzlhotel karmelitermarkt and Meidlinger markt
BWM Architekten

Architecture and Interior Design grätzlhotel belvedere
Kohlmayr Lutter Knapp

Awards

Won: Iconic Award 2019

7 August 2019

Won: Iconic Award 2019

Celebrating four awards at the same time! Four BWM projects have been awarded the Iconic Award 2019 "Innovative Architecture" in the "Interior" category. The Salon Sacher was nominated „Best of Best“, the highest award within the internationally renowned design and architectural competition. The design of the Konditorei Oberlaa pastry store in the Mariahilfer Straße as well as the innovative concept of grätzlhotel range among the „Winner“ awards, the LGV-Gärtnergschäftl among the „Selection“ awards.

Your vote for grätzlhotel is now required!

5 June 2017

Your vote for grätzlhotel is now required!

URBANAUTS Hospitality Group, BWM Architekten and Kohlmayr Luther Knapp have been shortlisted for the renowned international Hotel & Property Award 2017 with the wonderful grätzhotel. Now, it is all about winning in the category “Hotel under 50 Rooms Global”!

Vote for us! / Link to project grätzlhotel

Photo: © Monika Nguyen

Hotelier of the Year 2016

10 May 2016

Hotelier of the Year 2016

We’ve won! Our two grätzlhotel directors Fanny Holzer-Luschnig and Theresia Kohlmayr have been awarded the „Hotelier of the Year“! Five months ago we, the URBANAUTS Hospitality Group, opened the grätzlhotel at the locations Karmelitermarkt, Meidlinger Markt and Belvedere and now our commitment has received the Rolling Pin Award for the innovative hotel concept. We would like to thank all supporters who voted for us online!

Photos: https://www.facebook.com/magazin.rollingpin

Press

22 May 2020

architektur aktuell_Bad

Die hohe Kunst des Badezimmerdesigns

PDF

16 March 2020

Umbaukultur

Grätzelhotel

PDF

26 August 2018

FAZ

Hörst du die Straße?

PDF

30 November 2016

hotelbau

Unikate mit Anschlusss

PDF

16 November 2016

Deutsche Bauzeitung

Willkommen im Grätzl

PDF

7 November 2016

H.O.M.E.

Hoch lebe das Erdgeschoß

PDF

19 July 2016

National Geographic Traveler

Cutting-Edge Vienna

PDF

1 July 2016

Servus unser Wien

Grosses, kleines Graetzel

PDF

BWM Architekten

En Suche Menu
grätzlhotel, karmelitermarkt / meidlinger markt
grätzlhotel, karmelitermarkt / meidlinger markt
grätzlhotel, karmelitermarkt / meidlinger markt
grätzlhotel, karmelitermarkt / meidlinger markt
grätzlhotel, karmelitermarkt / meidlinger markt
grätzlhotel, karmelitermarkt / meidlinger markt
grätzlhotel, karmelitermarkt / meidlinger markt
grätzlhotel, karmelitermarkt / meidlinger markt
grätzlhotel, karmelitermarkt / meidlinger markt
grätzlhotel, karmelitermarkt / meidlinger markt
grätzlhotel, karmelitermarkt / meidlinger markt
grätzlhotel, karmelitermarkt / meidlinger markt
grätzlhotel, karmelitermarkt / meidlinger markt
grätzlhotel, karmelitermarkt / meidlinger markt
grätzlhotel, karmelitermarkt / meidlinger markt
grätzlhotel, karmelitermarkt / meidlinger markt
grätzlhotel, karmelitermarkt / meidlinger markt
grätzlhotel, karmelitermarkt / meidlinger markt
grätzlhotel, karmelitermarkt / meidlinger markt

Schmucke Designer-Suiten statt leerstehender Straßenlokale – ein innovatives Hotelkonzept, bei dem BWM nicht nur als Interior Designer, sondern auch selbst als Betreiber fungieren.

grätzlhotel ist ein Projekt der Urbanauts Hospitality Group, einem Zusammenschluss von Architekten sowie Hotel- und Marketingexperten. Erdgeschoßnutzung ist das Thema, Garten- oder Streetlofts sind die Formate. In den grätzlhotels karmelitermarkt und meidlinger markt gestaltete das Büro BWM Architekten als Hoteldesigner und Interior-Experten Unterkünfte von individueller Behaglichkeit für Wienerinnen und Wiener auf Zeit. Mit diesem neuartigen Hotelkonzept engagieren sich BWM Architekten erstmals auch als Hoteliers. Ein Konzept, das bereits mit dem Rolling Pin Award als „Hotelier des Jahres“ prämiert wurde.

Ihre Kompetenz als Gestalter und Architekten von Hotels haben BWM Architekten bereits in ganz unterschiedlichen Projekten erfolgreich unter Beweis gestellt. Mit dem grätzlhotel wagen BWM erstmals den Schritt in die Hotellerie, als Betreiber eines Hotels. Für das grätzlhotel ersannen sie ein unkonventionelles Konzept und bauten dafür leerstehende Straßenlokale in schmucke Hotelunterkünfte und eine Rezeption um.

Markus Kaplan
Die hochwertigen Materialien der Oberflächen sowie Vintage-Design-Objekte aus der Umgebung vermitteln ein authentisches, persönliches Stadterlebnis.
Markus Kaplan

Mitten im Grätzl

Inspiration dafür lieferte der Begriff des Grätzls – ein typischer Wiener Ausdruck, der einen Mikrostadtteil mit einem besonderen Flair und sprühendem Charme bezeichnet. Grätzl ist die Wohn- und Geschäftsumgebung in unmittelbarer Nähe, hier trifft man sich mit Ortsansässigen und lokalen Geschäftsleuten, hier kauft man ein und trinkt Kaffee. Für die Umsetzung knüpfen BWM an diese Idee des Grätzls an: Der Hotelgast soll bei seinem Besuch Teil dieser lebendigen Umgebung und des unverwechselbaren Ambientes werden.

Authentisches Flair garantiert

Zum Konzept gehört auch die Ausstattung der Zimmer. Keine Suite gleicht der anderen, jede erhielt eine eigene Note. Die hochwertigen Materialien der Oberflächen sowie Vintage-Design-Objekte aus der Umgebung vermitteln ein authentisches, persönliches Stadterlebnis. Eine Rezeption im üblichen Sinne existiert nicht, diese Funktion wird von typischen urbanen Treffpunkten übernommen: einem Marktstand (grätzlhotel meidlinger markt) oder einem ehemaligen Lampengeschäft (grätzlhotel karmelitermarkt), wo sich das Café-Restaurant mit dem Namen zur rezeption befindet.

Lokale Geschichten

Die ArchitektInnen (BWM Architekten: grätzlhotel karmelitermarkt und meidlinger markt; Kohlmayr Lutter Knapp: grätzlhotel belvedere) legten in der Gestaltung der Suiten großen Wert darauf, dass jedes Zimmer, das im Erdgeschoß unmittelbar am Stadtleben teilnimmt, zugleich ein wohnlicher und geschützter Rückzugsort für den Gast ist. Die Suiten gleichen kleinen Wohnungen. Ihre Gestaltung folgt einem urbanen Stil des situativen Reflektierens der Umgebung: In geschmackvolles, hochwertiges Design wurden lokale Elemente integriert. Die originalen Retro-Leuchten eines aufgelassenen Lampengeschäftes bilden eine Licht-Assemblage, ein in einer ruhigen Hinterhof-Oase vorgefundenes Bambuswäldchen verführte zur Gestaltung des Wiener Urwald-Zimmers. Überraschung, Witz und Ironie, kombiniert mit lokalen Geschichten, erzeugen eine bunte Melange an Räumlichkeiten.

Die Lampenschirmmacherin Karmelitermarkt
Die Lampenschirmmacherin Karmelitermarkt

Rezeption mal anders …

Bei der Umgestaltung des Lokals zur rezeption wurde alt mit neu gemixt, vorhandene Stücke der ehemaligen Geschäftsausstattung wurden übernommen, neue Designelemente kamen dazu: Zwanglos, locker und leger. Alle Suiten verfügen über ein hohes Ausstattungsniveau und sind in ihrer Atmosphäre und Gestaltung individuell wie die Gäste des grätzlhotels. Jede Suite ist mit einer Kitchenette ausgestattet. Regendusche und Boxspringbett gehören ebenfalls zur Grundausstattung. Auch Platz steht ausreichend zur Verfügung: Gäste der Wiener und Wienerinnen auf Zeit sind gerne willkommen..

In ganz Wien

Zu Beginn waren 21 Suiten in den drei Grätzln Belvedere, Meidlinger Markt und Karmelitermarkt in Betrieb. Drei weitere Suiten wurden Ende Juli 2016 im grätzlhotel meidlinger markt eröffnet. 2018 kam der Standort Neubau hinzu.

Aufgabe
Umbau diverser Ergeschosslokale für Hotelnutzung, Standorte Karmelitermarkt / Meidlinger Markt

Status
Fertigstellung 01/2016

Standort
Wien, Österreich

Auftraggeber
URBANAUTS Hospitality Group

Zimmer
28 Suiten

BWM Team
Johann Moser, Hubert Meyer, Alexandra Spitzer, Ingrid Schmid, Yuriy Pryveda

Bildnachweis
Heidrun Henke
Wolf Silveri
Monika Ngyuen
Severin Wurnig

Projektbeteiligte

Architektur und Interior Design grätzlhotel karmelitermarkt und meidlinger markt
BWM Architekten

Architektur und Interior Design grätzlhotel belvedere
Kohlmayr Lutter Knapp

Auszeichnungen

Gewonnen: Iconic Award 2019!

7 August 2019

Gewonnen: Iconic Award 2019!

Jubel hoch vier! Gleich vier BWM-Projekte wurden mit dem Iconic Award 2019 "Innovative Architecture" in der Kategorie "Interior" ausgezeichnet! Der Salon Sacher erfuhr mit "Best of Best" die höchste Prämierung des international renommierten Design- und Architekturwettbewerbs. Die Neugestaltung der Konditorei Oberlaa Mariahilfer Straße sowie das neuartige Konzept des grätzlhotels rangieren unter "Winner", das LGV-Gärtnergschäftl kam in die "Selection". Wir freuen uns!

Eure Stimme fürs grätzlhotel ist gefragt!

5 Juni 2017

Eure Stimme fürs grätzlhotel ist gefragt!

URBANAUTS Hospitality Group, BWM Architekten und Kohlmayr Lutter Knapp sind mit dem wunderbaren grätzlhotel in die Shortlist 2017 des renommierten Internationalen Hotel & Property Awards aufgenommen. Und jetzt geht es darum, in der Kategorie "Hotel under 50 Rooms Global" zu gewinnen!

Zum Voting fürs grätzlhotel / Link zum Projekt grätzlhotel

Foto © Wolf Silveri

Hoteliers des Jahres 2016

10 Mai 2016

Hoteliers des Jahres 2016

Gewonnen: Unsere zwei grätzlhotel-Direktorinnen Fanny Holzer-Luschnig und Theresia Kohlmayr sind zu den "Hotelièren des Jahres" gewählt worden! Vor nur fünf Monaten haben wir - die URBANAUTS Hospitality Group - das grätzlhotel an drei Standorten in Wien eröffnet, nun wurde unser Engagement mit dem Rolling Pin Award ausgezeichnet. Wir bedanken uns bei allen Unterstützern, die online für uns abgestimmt haben!

Foto: rollingpin

Presse

13 September 2021

The Budapest Times

A shop window onto Vienna’s streets

Link

19 Mai 2021

Falstaff living

Unten Angekommen: Wohnen im Erdgeschoß

Link

18 Mai 2021

AIT

Ein Wochenende in Wien ...

Link PDF

18 Mai 2021

AIT

Samstag: Gemischter Satz - Wiener Moderne und Zeitgenössisches

PDF

22 Mai 2020

architektur aktuell_Bad

Die hohe Kunst des Badezimmerdesigns

PDF

16 März 2020

Umbaukultur

Grätzelhotel

PDF

26 August 2018

FAZ

Hörst du die Straße?

PDF

30 November 2016

hotelbau

Unikate mit Anschlusss

PDF

16 November 2016

Deutsche Bauzeitung

Willkommen im Grätzl

PDF

7 November 2016

H.O.M.E.

Hoch lebe das Erdgeschoß

PDF

19 Juli 2016

National Geographic Traveler

Cutting-Edge Vienna

PDF

1 Juli 2016

Servus unser Wien

Grosses, kleines Graetzel

PDF